Masters of Fine Arts

The 60 credit hour MFA program at East Tennessee State University is based on intensive studio practice at an advanced level in the following areas: ceramics, drawing, fibers, graphic design, intermedia, jewelry & metals, painting, photography, printmaking, and sculpture. Facilities information can be found on the department website under each studio area; graduate studio facilities are provided as needed. The campus is situated in the foothills of the southern Appalachian mountains, providing a rich backdrop for a period of intensive development.

Each year selected artists, scholars, and leading figures in the contemporary art world visit ETSU. Past visitors have included Harry Callahan, Jerry Saltz, Julie Heffernan, Michael Ray Charles, Alec Soth, Mel Chin, Sue Coe, Patrick Dougherty, William Christenberry, Amy Stein, Tony Scherman.

The Slocumb Galleries on campus and the Tipton Gallery in downtown Johnson City have active year round scheduling. There is also a student run space, the Submarine Gallery.

Financial Aid: Tuition Scholarships and Graduate Assistantships are available on a competitive basis; please see the Graduate Studies website for complete information about tuition, fees, and financial aid for graduate students.

Deadline: The deadline for receipt of all application materials (Slideroom materials and Graduate Studies) is February 1. Portfolios, artist statements, and supplemental materials must be submitted through Slideroom.  Application materials will not be returned.

How to apply:

1. Submit electronic application required by The School of Graduate Studies at:   Follow directions for submission of transcripts, letters of recommendation, etc.

2. Submit Slideroom application materials.

Applicants must hold a bachelor's degree and have adequate background for pursuing advanced work as evidenced both by transcripts and a portfolio of artwork.

Graduate Coordinator
Associate Professor Travis Graves    423-439-8308

MFA Course Checksheet

Melisa Cadell

Melisa Cadell  M.F.A. 2013