Other Sources of Funding

The Department of History offers two competitive avenues of funding for second year graduate students.  Neither award may be applied for by students -- the Departmental faculty is responsible for determining award recipients in these cases.  Students are judged on their work in the department, both in terms of their scholarship and in terms of their service.

Barbara Jaffe Silvers Memorial Scholarship Endowment

The Silvers Scholarship is given to those students in their second year and beyond who have demonstrated superior drive, ability, and promise.  Award winners are chosen by the Department faculty.  The amount of the award varies on a yearly basis, depending on available funding.

Dale J. Schmitt Outstanding Graduate Student Award

The Dale J. Schmitt Award is given annually to the second-year graduate student who best exemplifies the combination of academic excellence, integrity, and departmental service that Dr. Schmitt embodied.  The award winner is chosen by the Department faculty, and is announced in April of each year.  The award carries with it a $1,000 prize.   Award winners are recognized at the Graduate Awards Ceremony, and have their names added to a plaque in the History Graduate Student Office.

Previous Schmitt Award recipients may be seen here .