The Southern Appalachian Student Conference on Literature offers awards for achievement in essay. We are happy to announce the recipients of the awards for our 2010 conference.
Dr. Daniel Westover, Jennifer Daniel, Kimberly Steger, Mark Michaelson

Dr. Daniel Westover, Jennifer Daniel, Kimberly Steger, Mark Michaelson

For our 2010 conference, new Department of Literature and Language faculty member Dr. Daniel Westover reviewed SASCOL submissions. Kim Steger of ETSU won the third place award for "The Role of Disguise in Shakespeare's Plays," which Dr. Westover noted for "sound arguments about its subject matter; . . . demonstrat[ing] an awareness of what, if anything, has already been written on the topic; and . . . maintain[ing] interest by being articulately and stylishly written." Second place went to Mark Michaelson of Georgia State University, whose “The Redemptive Function of Allegory in The House of the Seven Gables” offers an "articulate and convincing" argument, "put[ting] to good use contemporary critical theory without being wholly dependent upon it." ETSU's Jennifer Daniel earned the first place award for “Hester’s Half of the Sky: Chinese Support of Nina Baym’s Scarlet Conclusions,” which offers "compelling" conclusions "informed by both close reading and global awareness." Congratulations to our winners, and thanks to our judge for their contributions to this year's SASCOL.

Our first award for achievement in essay went to University of Tennessee-Knoxville student Jesse Graves, for his paper, “Lattice Work: Formal Tendencies in the Poetry of Robert Morgan and Ron Rash.” We are pleased to announce that an extended version of his paper has been published in a special issue of Southern Quarterly dedicated to "poetry in the South." Coincidentally, (now Dr.) Jesse Graves joined the ETSU English faculty in fall 2009, practicing his specialization in poetry. We appreciate Karen Kornweibel for judging the 2007 competition.

Our second award for achievement in essay went to East Tennessee State University undergraduate Jessica Gilley for “’From last year, and from the year before last, and from the year before that again’: History and Culture in Beckett." We wish her continued success with her work, and are pleased to announce that in fall 2009 she entered the Master's program in English at Queens University in Belfast. Thanks go to Jennifer Barker for judging the 2008 competition.

The third award for achievement in essay, presented during our 2009 conference, went to Robert Kottage of ETSU for his "Reading the 'Four of Cups': Divination versus Christianity in McCarthy's Blood Meridian." He is now continuing his undergraduate studies here at ETSU. Former award winner Jesse Graves earned our thanks for judging this year's competition.

We follow these guidelines when it comes to competition:

1. Only those completed essays that reach our offices by July 17, 2010, will be eligible for competition. This deadline applies only to those submissions to be considered for the competition.

2. Essays must follow the essay submission guidelines.

3. Only those participants who have completed registration (including fees) are eligible for competition.

4. Only those participants who follow the “blind submission” rule will be eligible for competition.

5. We propose awards in three categories:

a) undergraduate English majors

b) graduate English majors

c) students who are not English majors

The number of eligible participants will determine the number of awards; each category must have at least five submissions to be valid. Should we not receive enough submissions to hold a separate competition, we will assign submissions to the most appropriate category.

You can find more information about submissions on our SASCOL 2011 Call for Papers page.

Kottage and Graves

2009 "Achievement in Award" recipient Robert Kottage (l) congratulated by 2007 recipient and now ETSU English Department Professor Jesse Graves (photo courtesy ETSU Photo Lab)

Barker and Gilley

2008 "Achievement in Essay" award recipient Jessica Gilley (r) congratulated by Professor Jennifer Barker (photo courtesy ETSU Photo Lab).