23rd Annual Notable Women of ETSU

On behalf of the Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies Program, I invite you to place a nomination for the Notable Women of ETSU award for 2024. We are privileged to have numerous women academics on our campus whose expertise has had an impact in the region and far beyond it. To honor these women and their work, Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies will present its **Annual Notable Women of ETSU colloquium** in Fall 2024.

The purpose of the award and colloquium is to honor and celebrate notable women by 1) exposing ETSU and the surrounding community to the expertise and accomplishments of women academics on our campus; 2) providing a forum for the exchange of ideas, research, and projects that are generated by women faculty; and 3) identifying women faculty at ETSU whose work has advanced our understanding of women and their lives.

Honorees will contribute in notable ways to one or more of these goals. Previous honorees are:

Dr. Fereshteh Gerayli and Dr. Amber Kinser (2023)

Dr. Cerrone Foster and Dr. Mary Mullins (2022)

Dr. Aruna Kilaru and Vanessa Mayoraz (2021)

Dr. Martha Michieka and Dr. Judy McCook (2020)

Dr. Sarah Melton and Dr. Lynn Williams (2019)

Dr. Kelly Atkins and Dr. Jodi Polaha (2018)

Prof. Karen Brewster and Dr. Stacey Williams (2017)

Dr. Patricia Vanhook and Dr. Katie Baker (2016)

Dr. Cecilia McIntosh and Dr. Mary Langenbrunner (2015)

Dr. Beth Bailey and Dr. Karen Schetzina (2014)

Dr. Rosalind Gann and Dr. Amal Khoury (2013)

Dr. Edith Seier and Dr. Leslie MacAvoy (2012)

Dr. Marie Tedesco and Prof. Kathleen Higginson Grover (2011)

Dr. Ardis Nelson and Dr. Martha Copp (2010)

Dr. Dorothy Dobbins and Dr. Priscilla Wyrick (2009)

Dr. Judith Slagle and Dr. Joellen Edwards (2008)

Dr. Peggy Cantrell and Dr. Maria Niederberger (2007)

Dr. Theresa Lura and Dr. Mary Hooks (2006)

Dr. Teresa Haynes and Dr. Rebecca Pyles (2005)

Dr. Patricia Robertson and Dr. Roberta Herrin (2004)

Dr. Wilsie Bishop and Dr. Elizabeth McCord (2003)

Dr. Joyce Duncan and Dr. Susan Grover (2002)

Please consider whom you might nominate for this esteemed award and send us your electronic nomination.

Nominations will be accepted through Friday, March 22, 2024. Two honorees will be selected as our 2024 Notable

Women of ETSU by vote of the Women's Studies Steering Committee and will be announced in April.

To nominate a notable woman, Email a nomination packet in a PDF format before the submission deadline. Include in the packet the nominee's CV, the nominee's name, title, academic rank, and departmental affiliation as well as letters of nomination. In the letters of nomination, tell us why she is a Notable Woman:

- How she contributes to the campus and/or larger community
- How her professional work or personal journeys/stories inspire women or influence their lives
- How she has contributed to her discipline or area of interest in terms of service, teaching, administration,
 "unsung" areas, and/or research

Questions and nominations can be sent via email to: wgss@etsu.edu



Dr. Stacey Williams
Director, Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies Program
423-439-4125
williasl@etsu.edu