General Information

The Department of Physics and Astronomy at ETSU offers curricula leading to a Bachelor of Science degree in physics. The faculty consists of eight regular faculty members with Ph.D. degrees in their respective field of study and one lecturer. Modern and well-equipped laboratories along with relatively small class sizes in the upper-level courses result in a strong academic department with substantial personal interaction between faculty members and students. Students with an interest in astronomy will gain observational experience at either the ETSU campus observatory or The SARA Observatory on Kitt Peak in Arizona. Opportunities for additional undergraduate research experiences in astronomy and biophysics are also available.

For more information on the requirements for a major in Physics, click here.

The department also provides basic core courses to non-science courses and students majoring in other sciences. For a full list of the Physics and Astronomy course listings, click here.