Lakeway Area Scholarship

This $500 scholarship supports students in their senior year who are from the Lakeway area (including the counties of Hamblen, Jefferson, Cocke, Grainger, Hawkins, Claiborne, Greene, or Hancock counties) and who are committed to pursuing a career in social work.  Recipients should be willing to attend at least two SWLA meetings (1 st Thursday of each month at 6:00 p.m. in Morristown) and commit to be present to receive the scholarship, which is awarded on the 1 st Thursday night in January at the monthly SWLA meeting).  The deadline for the scholarship is generally November 1, but call the Department of Social Work to confirm the due date (439-6006).

In order to be considered for the award, students must be in good academic standing and submit the scholarship application (available at Hillrise House), as well as the following documents.

A recommendation from a social work instructor that addresses the applicant’s scholastic abilities and enthusiasm for a career in social work
A letter of recommendation from the applicant’s field instructor or an employer that addresses the applicant’s work ethic and contribution to the agency/workplace (volunteer work is acceptable)
A 250 to 500 word essay that addresses the following points:
Statement of financial need
Why you chose the field of social work
Your career plans/goals
Brief biographical sketch