Clemmer College of Education News

Dr. Angela Radford Lewis receives AAFCS Distinguished Service Award

Dr. Angela Lewis

JOHNSON CITY – (May 18, 2015) Dr. Angela Radford Lewis, interim dean of the Clemmer College of Education at East Tennessee State University, has been selected to receive the 2015 Distinguished Service Award from the American Association of Family and Consumer Sciences (AAFCS).

According to AAFCS, this is the most prestigious award given within the family and consumer sciences profession and “serves as a tribute to outstanding members for their professional achievements and sustained leadership.”  Lewis was nominated for the honor by the National Coalition for Black Development in Family and Consumer Sciences.

One nominator wrote, “Angela is a person who believes the profession is one that indeed can benefit the world.  Thus, she has used her ingenuity and creativity in developing and/or presenting programs and activities that were needed by her students, the profession and the community.”

Lewis joined the ETSU faculty in 2004 as chair of the former Department of Family and Consumer Sciences and later became Associate Dean for the College of Education in 2009.  In that role, she worked closely with accreditation matters for the college and also provided leadership for the development of the Ready 2 Teach initiative, which represented major curriculum changes to the college’s teacher-preparation programs.

She has served as interim dean of the college for the past 14 months. 

Lewis holds two B.S. degrees from Middle Tennessee State University in home economics and vocational home economics education, as well as a Master of Vocational Technical Education degree.  In 2003, she was awarded her Ph.D. degree in human ecology from the University of Tennessee.

She spent six years as a home economics/family and consumer sciences teacher in Mississippi and Alabama, and also taught at MTSU from 1998-2004.

In addition to AAFCS, she is a member of the Family and Consumer Sciences Education Association, Kappa Omicron Nu National Honor Society, National Association of Teacher Educators in Family and Consumer Sciences, National Coalition for Black Development in Family and Consumer Sciences, Phi Kappa Phi, Tennessee Association of Career and Technical Education, and the Tennessee Association of Family and Consumer Sciences.

Within her community, she has been active with the United Way of Washington County, Johnson City Public Schools Foundation, Inc., Boys and Girls Club of Johnson City/Washington County and the Johnson City Seniors’ Center.

Lewis will receive the award during the AAFCS 106th annual conference to be held in Jacksonville, Fla., in June.

Ready2Teach Scholars Announced

Congratulations to the following teacher candidates who were honored as Ready2Teach Scholars, a new award in Spring 2015 from the Tennessee Board of Regents, for students with a 3.5 or higher GPA and a score of 50 or higher on their edTPA:

Jacob Adkins

Chelsea Austin

Austin Bird

Jordan Brooks

Amanda Campbell

Susan Chandler

John Dunbar

Courtney Duncan

Katherine Etters

Jessie Giles


Meranda Hart

Audrey Leonard

Briona McCall

Ashley McLaughlin

Kelli Manis

Matthew Meade

Tyler Mittlesteadt

Shelby Morris

Morgan Murray

Makayla Neas


Cory Parker

Elizabeth Powers

Taylor Smith

Breanna Tenpenny

Jennifer Yearwood

Juanita Young




Dr. Renner was selected by the Tennessee Board of Regents as the 2014 Maxine Smith Fellow from East Tennessee State University.  The Maxine Smith Fellows Program was originally created as a TBR central office Geier initiative designed to provide opportunities for African-American TBR employees to participate in a working and learning environment that would enhance work experience and career development.  The Fellowship commenced from February 2014-September, 2014 and serves as a as a tool for enhancing opportunities and as a means to increase the diversity of ideas, thoughts and experiences that ultimately enhance the educational environment at TBR institutions.  Each fellow is peered with a mentor from the central TBR Office and during the fellowship, fellows engage in the development of a system-wide culminating project. Dr. Renner’s final project title is “Engaging Tennessee Board of Regents Faculty in Online Research Communities and Emerging Technologies”. The project seeks to connect faculty researchers and scholars from all TBR institutions through a research portal/network. Researchers and scholars will share, engage, network and collaborate in critical conversations on specific scholarly research topics that will inform data-driven and informed decision making.

TBR Chancellor Morgan (Left), Dr. Renner (Right) 

During her fellowship, Dr. Renner was appointed to the Editorial Board of the Tennessee Board of Regents (TBR) Critical Conversations Interdisciplinary Journal, and, also appointed as a member of the Management team of the Tennessee Board of Regents (TBR) Critical Conversations system-wide initiative. 

TBR’s Critical Conversations Interdisciplinary Journal (CCIJ) is dedicated to promoting dialogue on topics of importance among scholars across disciplines at TBR institutions. The journal provides a platform for critical conversations through which all disciplines can inform practice and practice can inform all disciplines, providing guidance for future public policy decisions. The CCJI is part of the overall Tennessee Board of Regents (TBR) sponsored faculty-led Critical Conversations initiative dedicated to informing the legislature and taxpayers about the benefits of scholarship conducted at TBR institutions.  The journal will be launched at  TBR’s December board meeting.

direct edit