Middle/High School

banner

Middle and High School Links

 

Link to Tweentribune  http://tweentribune.com/tween

Research Links

http://www.khanacademy.org   KHAN ACADEMY offers teaching videos on everything from math, science, finance, history, and more.  This is a great site to learn more about these subject areas, see and practice information you might have questions about.  Check it out.

http://ocw.mit.edu/high-school  Massachusetts Institute of Teachnology (MIT)  Open Courseware materials that are most useful for high school students and teachers. 

http://ocw.mit.edu/index.htm   Free lecture notes, exams, and videos from (MIT).  through Open Courseware materials.

www.sophia.org   Free online education community for faculty and students in grades six through fourteen (the first two years of college) You must join and students must be 13 years of age to use this site without permission from parents.   

  http://tntel.tnsos.org/   Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL) – A collection of 40+ databases that provide access to over 400,000 magazines, journals, newspaper articles, essays, podcasts, videos, and ebooks.    No password is needed .

http://sherrod.etsu.edu/ Sherrod Library. Begin your search through Sherrod Library online.

http://www.jcpl.net/index.asp?speed=low&screen=narrow&css=no&section=cata&page=index   Johnson City Public Library and WebPAC System

http://state.tn.us/tsla/pld/library.jsp?Region=Watauga&City=&Name=&County=Washington Tennessee Public Library Directory - Find links to libraries in the area and a good collection of electronic resources

http://state.tn.us/tsla/pld/library.jsp?Region=Watauga&City=&Name=&County=Washington Tennessee Public Library Directory - Find links to libraries in the area and a good collection of electronic resources

Middle School InfoTrack- (Junior Edition) for searching Newspapers, Reference, Encyclopedias, journals...  Link to InfoTrack on Tennessee Electronic Library 

A Plethora of Information for Teens

http://www.jpl.org/div/teen  Internet Library for Teens with links for research and reading.

http://www.sweetsearch.com  Organizes and Find Information - Try this before you Google.

http://www.Findingdulcinea.com Internet Library - Try this too before you Google.

http://www.awesomestories.com/ is an awesome site for searching pictures, documents, articles relating to social studies, science, movies, religion and many other topics.  We have an academic membership.  It is the second box down.  Our school password is ETSU (case sensitive-all caps)  Check it out!!

Test Practice Links

http://www.learningexpresslibrary.com?HR=http://tntel.tnsos.org/ Learning Express Library is a comprehensive, interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial course series designed to help students succeed on academic or licensing tests.  Get immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an individualized analysis of test results.

http://tntel.tnsos.org/act.htm   ACT Preparation Resources on the Tennessee Electronic Library

Writing Papers and Format

http://www.ipl.org/div/aplus/step2.htm#sec1.1  Specific site for research papers

http://owl.english.purdue.edu/ Purdue Online Writing Lab - Assistance with research and citations

Middle and High School Author Websites

Douglas Adams http://www.douglasadams.

Chris Van Allsburg http://www.chrisvanallsburg.com

M. T. Anderson  http://mt-anderson.com

K.A. Applegate http://www.scholastic.com/animorphs/index.htm

Eoin Colfer http://eoincolfer.com/

Suzanne Collins http://www.suzannecollinsbooks.com/

Chris D’ Lacey http://www.thelastdragonchronicles.com/

John Flanagan http://www.rangersapprentice.com/

Cornelia Funke http://www.corneliafunke.com

Roderick Gordon and Brian Williams  http://www.tunnelsthebook.com/the-books/

 Margaret Peterson Haddix http://www.haddixbooks.com/home.html

Gareth Hinds http://www.garethhinds.com/

Anthony Horowitz http://anthonyhorowitz.com/

Kazu Kibuishi http://boltcity.com/

Gordon Korman http://gordonkorman.com/

C.S. Lewis http://www.cslewis.com/

D.J. MacHale http://djmachalebooks.com/

Gregory Maguire http://gregorymaguire.com

Stephenie Meyer http://www.stepheniemeyer.com/

James Patterson http://www.jamespatterson.com/

Michelle Paver http://www.michellepaver.com/

Rick Riordan http://www.rickriordan.com/home.aspx

J.K. Rowling http://www.jkrowling.com/

Jonathan Stroud http://www.jonathanstroud.com/

Writing Sites for Creative Writing

40 of the best writing sites for creative writing: http://education-portal.com/articles/40_of_the_Best_Websites_for_Young_Writers.html