Message from the Chair


     William Browder, MD
   William Browder, M.D.     
Chairman & William Henry 
        Reed Professor




Our department consists of 25 full-time surgical faculty, over 60 staff and support personnel and numerous clinical faculty. Our mission in the Department of Surgery is to: 1) provide superb surgical care to the citizens of Northeast Tennessee; 2) provide an excellent education to our junior and senior medical students as well as our surgical residents, and 3) maintain an active basic research program into the mechanisms and treatment of surgical disease. To accomplish this mission our students and residents rotate through four tertiary care medical facilities in the Tri-Cities region in Northeast Tennessee.  The Department of Surgery is composed of a number of divisions including general surgery, trauma and critical care, pediatric surgery, plastic surgery, surgical oncology, ophthalmology, and podiatry.  Our research program consists of active research supported by external peer review funding in the areas of cardiovascular disease, surgical immunology, wound healing, and surgical sepsis. 

I invite you to stroll through the remainder of our website for a more in-depth look at our department. Additionally, I would be pleased to answer any questions you might have. Please contact me at the address below or e-mail me at

William Browder, MD
Department of Surgery
James H. Quillen College of Medicine
Building 1, Dogwood Ave.
PO Box 70575, ETSU
Johnson City, TN 37614
(423) 439-6268