Public Health wins prestigious Delta Omega Curriculum Award!


ETSU’s department of Public Health has been awarded the prestigious Delta Omega Award for Innovative Public Health Curriculum for 2005. Delta Omega National Public Honor Society restricts nominations for the singular award to CEPH accredited schools and programs of public health. Dr. Tonette Krousel-Wood, President of Delta Omega National Council, stated that the curriculum nomination submitted by Public Health faculty members, Drs. Michael Dunn, James Florence, and Mary Ann Littleton, was, “quite innovative and will truly foster public health education.” Previous winners of the award are Johns Hopkins University, Boston University, the University of Alabama at Birmingham, and the University of Pittsburgh.

ETSU’s winning nomination, “The Trilogy: An innovative course sequence for training community health professionals,” describes a three-course sequence of classes designed to take graduate students on an experiential learning path through the theory and practice of community health while partnering with a community or organization. The Trilogy program began as part of a revolutionary revision of the Master of Public Health program at ETSU in 1996. The nomination offered special recognition to Dr. Mike Stoots of ETSU Department of Public Health, Mr. Bruce Behringer of ETSU Office of Rural and Community Health, and Dr. Evelyn Knight, now with the University of Kentucky College of Public Health, for their involvement in the original conception of the Trilogy and the revised MPH community health curriculum.

The award will be presented to Drs. Dunn, Florence, and Littleton on December 12, at the business meeting of the Delta Omega National Council held during the American Public Health Association’s 133rd Annual Meeting and Exhibition in Philadelphia, PA. They will present the curriculum to the council and at the APHA academic public health caucus poster session.

News & Events Home                                     Archives Home

direct edit