skip to main content columnskip to left navigationskip to horizontal navigation

Desire 2 Learn


Accessing the Classlist

The Classlist is the best place for keeping track of your students. You can view their profiles, course progress, print a classlist, add participants to your course, and email your students. You can access your classlist via the Communication, Course Tools, or A to Z link groups on the Default Course navbar.

image of the classlist tool in the default course nav bar


 

Add Participants through the Classlist

Students who register for your course through the Banner Student Information System will be automatically added to your classlist but you may choose to add another instructor, a teaching assistant, grader, or even another student to your course. In the event that a student is enrolled in your course in goldlink but not in D2L, please contact ATS immediately. 

  1. Click the Add Participant button and select Add Existing User from the drop-down menu

    image of the add participants button

  2. To add a participant to your classlist, you must first search for the participant. Enter in your search criteria in the search field and click the search icon.
  3. Note that you can search by first name, last name, E#, or email username (smithab derived from smithab@etsu.edu)

    image depicting the steps to add a participant to the classlist

  4. Check the box to the left to the participant you want to add to your course
  5. Choose the participant's role from the drop down list
  6. Click the Enroll Selected Users button
  7. Click Done to return to the Classlist.
Changing a Participant's Role
 

There may be a time where changing a participant's role is necessary. For example, students receiving an incomplete in a course will need a role change so that they will continue to have access to the course materials after the course dates have expired.

image of the classlist with the enrollment link marked 

 

  1. Select the checkbox to the left of the student's name
  2. Click the Enrollment hyperlink
  3. Select the new role from the drop-down menu
  4. Click Save

It is highly recommended that you not change your role from Instructor, as you will be unable to return to the Instructor role without intervention from the Office of Information Technology Services. Instead, use the role switching feature located in the minibar.  

Unenroll a Participant
 

Students who drop your course through the Banner Student Information System will be automatically dropped from your classlist. In the event that a student dropped your course in goldlink but is still showing as actively enrolled in D2L, please contact ATS immediately. 

image of the unenroll link

  1. Select the checkbox to the left of the student's name
  2. Click the Unenroll hyperlink
  3. Click Yes to confirm this action 

You will not be able to remove an instructor from your course. You may contact the Office of Information Technology Services if you need to change a role or remove another manually added Instructor. 

Email the Classlist
 
  1. Upon clicking the Classlist you will be given a list of all the students currently enrolled in your course.
  2. Check the box next to the names of the students you wish to email or page
  3. Click the Email hyperlink located above the names list

    image of the classlist with the select all and email options marked

  4. This will open a new window with either the new message pane
  5. Any message you send from the Classlist will also send a copy to your ETSU email account by default

image of a blank email message

 

View Enrollment Statistics
 

The Classlist Enrollment Statistics houses all enrollment information for your course. Broken down by role, this page highlights the enrollment and withdrawal information for students attached to your course. 

image of the enrollment statistics button

Note: As an instructor you are able to view limited information on students who withdrew from the course - grade and attendance information. To access this information, simply choose one of the two options from that particular student's context menu. 

View Student Information

To view additional information on a particular student, select one of the four options from the student's context menu. 

image of the context menu of a participant

  • Send Email - Selecting the Send Email option will open a blank email composition window. Compose your email and press the send button to send an email to a single student. 
  • View Progress - Selecting the View Progress option will redirect you to the student's User Progress report. Click here to learn more about User Progress. 
  • View Group Enrollments - Selecting View Group Enrollments will open a new window displaying a student's group membership within your course. 
  • View Blog - Selecting View Blog will redirect you to the student's blog.
Roles and Permissions
Role Permissions
Grader Graders have many of the same permissions as Instructors.  The differences in the Grader and Instructor roles are listed below.

Graders are not automatically put into all course groups and they cannot:
  • Delete course feedback
  • Delete discussion messages posted by others
  • Enroll an instructor

Instructors, Teaching Assistants and Graders may add users with the role of Student to course sites.

Guest

Guest status does not refer to a non-ETSU user in D2L.  This role is for users who have ETSU accounts but should only have very limited access to the course materials within D2L.  Guests have access to the following items in D2L:

  • Articles
  • FAQ
  • Glossary
  • Links
  • Course Content
  • News
  • Pager
Instructor

Instructor is the default role assigned to users who are teaching a course. Instructors have full access to edit course settings, all course content, add other users, etc.  Only a user with the role of Instructor may add another Instructor to a course site.

Instructors, Teaching Assistants and Graders may add users with the role of Student to course sites.

Student Student is the default role assigned to users who are enrolled in a course.  Students do not have the ability to edit anything within the course.  The only changes a student may make to a course are uploading files to the Dropbox and adding new messages in Discussions.  Instructors set up these tools before they are accessible by students.

Student(I)

Student - Incomplete

Users enrolled with the Student (I) designation have the same permission as regularly enrolled Students.  This designation is reserved for students who previously received a grade of Incomplete in the course.
Teaching Assistant

Teaching Assistants have many of the same permissions as Instructors.  The differences in the Teaching Assistant and Instructor roles are listed below.

Teaching Assistants are not automatically put into all course groups and they cannot:

  • Access course Grades
  • Delete course feedback
  • Delete or edit discussion messages posted by others
  • View or enable the course Address Book
  • Create personal LiveRoom chats
  • Manage homepage widgets
  • Take Surveys as student
  • View User Progress
  • Enroll an Instructor
  • Create release conditions for Checklists, LiveRoom chats, widgets
icon for left menu icon for right menu