A-Z Index | Calendars | Contact Us | GoldLink | Need Help?

Search People | Search ETSU
Future Students Current Students Honors Faculty & Staff Alumni & Friends Apply to ETSU

ETSU Undergraduate Researchers
Meet State Legislators
(Photos at the bottom)

Undergraduate Research was in the spotlight of state legislators Wednesday, February 11, 2009. Five ETSU undergraduate students joined with peers from other senior institutions within the Tennessee Board of Regents system. In the fourth annual Posters-at-the-State Capitol event, student researchers showcase their research findings in poster presentations for legislators. Tennessee is one of only a dozen states to host such an event.

During the morning session, students displayed their posters in the Capital Rotunda and described their research methods and findings to legislators. Each ETSU student also met individually with their hometown legislator. At lunchtime, members of our local delegation joined the ETSU students for a box lunch in the Legislative Plaza office building. After lunch, the ETSU students were introduced and recognized on the floorof the Tennessee House of Representatives. A photo session with the governor followed and then, Rep. Matt Hill presented the group with a Tennessee flag that had flown over the state capitol.

The ETSU delegation consisted of three students working in the arts and humanities and two others in health-oriented science research.

Matt Brewer (Murfreesboro) showed how theater directors manipulate stage productions to keep the audience cognizant of the fact that they are watching a play rather than real life. Matt is a junior University Honors Scholar and an English major whose worked was supervised by Dr. Katherine Weiss.

Aneel Deshmukh (Johnson City) examined how culture shapes personal identity across national boundaries. Aneel is a sophomore in the University Honors Scholars program and a philosophy major working under the mentorship of Dr. Mark Holland.

Reese Chamness (Johnson City) is a Fine & Performing Arts Honors Scholar who received a ETSU Undergraduate Research Fellowship last summer to help him develop a novel method for casting bronze sculpture. Reese is an art major studying with Dr. Catherine Murray.

James Fisher (Chattanooga) worked in the lab to synthesize a chemical compound that has the ability to combat bloodstream infections. James is a University Honors Scholar who will graduate this May. He has completed a chemistry major and conducted his research in the Pharmacology Department of the Quillen College of Medicine with Dr. Michael Wimpe.

Jennifer Snyder (Church Hill) analyzed responses of primary care physicians to questions about how they provide for mental health needs of patients. Jennifer is a recently graduated University Honors Scholars and psychology major, who continues to work with her research mentor, Dr. Peggy Cantrell.

(NOTE:  Thumbnail images are arranged in a row across the top.  To scroll through all the thumbnail images, click on the arrows to the left or right of the row of thumbnails.  To see the image larger, click on the thumbnail.  The selected image is displayed full size in the center.)




USPS Mailing Address:
The Honors College at
East Tennessee State University
PO Box 70589
Johnson City, TN 37614-1708

Phone: 423.439.6076
Fax: 423.439.6080
email:  Honors College

Street Addresses of The Honors College offices:
  Administration: Yoakley Hall, Room 129
161 S. Dossett Drive
University & Midway Scholars: Ada Earnest House
310 S. Dossett Drive
Honors-in-Discipline Programs: Yoakley Hall, Room 206
161 S. Dossett Drive
Fine & Performing Art Scholars: Yoakley Hall, Room 206
161 S. Dossett Drive
Undergraduate Research: Yoakley Hall, Room 129
161 S. Dossett Drive
International Programs & Services: Yoakley Hall, Room 122
161 S. Dossett Drive