East Tennessee State University

Retirees Association (ETSURA)

Horizontal Line

ETSU Retirees Association

Board Meeting Minutes

February 27, 2001

Current members present: Dr. Jay Allen, Mrs. Rosemary Barson, Mr. William Coleman, Mrs. Jean Copeland, Dr. William Fisher, Mrs. Betty Moore, Dr. William Pafford, Dr. Harry Powell, Dr. Dorman Stout and Mrs. Betty Tester.  Others present: Mr. Jeff Anderson, Miss Edith Keys and Mrs. Diana McClay.

President Jean Copeland called the meeting to order at 3:30 p.m.  Mrs. Copeland informed us that Dr. Charles Votaw was in Florida for a parent's 94th birthday, and that Dr. John Ephraim continues to be unable to attend meetings due to illness.  She suggested that the Board consider replacing him if he is not able to serve.

Mrs. Copeland asked if there was discussion of the by-laws; there was none at this time.

The minutes of the January 2001 meeting were approved as distributed.

President Copeland led the group in the discussion of the following standing committee reports:

Executive Committee:  Mrs. Jean Copeland, Chair

Some chairmen are still working on new membership assignments for their committees.  A complete listing will be prepared and distributed after committees are finalized.

Membership:  Mrs. Rosemary Barson, Chair

There are 200 members as of February 22, 2001.  Serving with Mrs. Barson will be Martha Honaker, Barbara Humphrys, Willene Paxton and June Smith.

Finance Committee:  Mrs. Betty Tester, Chair 

Mrs. Tester distributed a financial statement that reflects the addition of one new lifetime member during the past month.

Program Committee:  Dr. Dorman Stout, Chair 

Dr. Stout verified that the April 19, June 21 and September 20 dates listed in the January minutes are correct.  Board members had conflicts with the date he had tentatively set for the October luncheon, so he will recheck for October 12 or 19. Dr. Stanton is to speak briefly to the group, and other program ideas were discussed.  Betty Tester and Betty Moore will serve with Dr. Stout on this committee.

Special Activities Subcommittee:  Dr. William Pafford, Chair

President Copeland asked Dr. William Pafford to chair this subcommittee.  Dr. Willene Paxton will work closely with him and the other committee members.  

Communication Committee:  Dr. Harry Powell, Chair

Dr. Powell announced the following changes to this committee:  Remove John Ephraim (due to health), and Martha Honaker (who is now on Membership); add Bill Pafford, John Robert Bell, Johnny Britton, Art Hougland, John Falls and Dave Benner.  Chuck Taylor and Edith Keys will continue to serve, and other members will be contacted prior to the March board meeting.

Liaison:  Dr. William Fisher 

Dr. Fisher will contact a representative from each ETSU college who will keep us abreast of happenings in the colleges.

Dr. Fisher distributed and discussed the following handouts: 
  1. 2001 Tennessee Senate Standing Committee assignments. 
  2.  A schedule for a workshop in Bristol on Thursday, September 20, 2001, from 8:30 a.m. until 12:30 p.m.  More information will be available at a later date. 
  3.  The December 31, 2000 report of TIAA-CREF investment options and the 2000 results. 

Dr. Fisher also announced that on April 4, 2001, the equalization of pay bill would come up for discussion.

OLD BUSINESS:  Dr. Jay Allen

Dr. Allen had to leave for another appointment, so Mr. Bill Coleman gave his report concerning making cell phones available for 911 access for travel.   Mr. Coleman said that more contacts need to be made before plans can be finalized.  Mrs. Copeland suggested that SunCom might be contacted since they recently gave phones to area schools.  Another updated report is expected at the March meeting.

In answer to a question by Betty Tester about auditing a course on campus, Bill Pafford reminded us that if space is available and the professor agrees, any retiree may audit a course.  Diana McClay suggested that we check the ETSURA brochure for these and other benefits to retirees.  She also announced that the college bookstore has increased its discount from 10% to 20%.  A photo ID is necessary.

Mrs. Copeland asked everyone to make a point of contacting Physical Plant retirees and to help them get more involved in ETSURA.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 4:20 p.m.


Betty Moore

Back to ETSURA Horizontal Line

ETSU Logo with link to ETSU Home Page

HR Logo with link to home page

Back to ETSU Home 

Back to ETSU Human Resources Page

Mailing Address:  Office of Human Resources
ETSU Box 70564
Johnson City, TN  37614-1707
Telephone:  423-439-4457
Fax:  423-439-8354
TDD:  423-439-4710

Office Hours:  8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. E.S.T. Monday - Friday
Office Location:  Rooms 307 and 311, Dossett Hall


Updated on 11/15/05