East Tennessee State University

Retirees Association (ETSURA)

Horizontal Line

ETSU Retirees Association

Board Meeting Minutes

November 26, 2002

Board Members present: Jay L. Allen, Joan C. Dressel, Bill Fisher, Barbara R. Humphrys, Harold K. Johnson, Bill Miller, Betty Moore, Dorman Stout, Betty Tester, and Keith Turkett. Newly elected board members present: Martha Bradley, George L. Granger, and Willene Paxton. Others present: Edith Keys, Jeff Anderson, Diana McClay and Bill Coleman.

Dr. Stout called the meeting to order at 3:30 p.m.

Dr. Stout recognized Associate Vice President Jeff Anderson who expressed appreciation to the Retirees Association for all the support the retirees give the university in so many ways and most recently in assisting with the sale of Dr. Diane Nelson's "Fish Calendars," with the proceeds going to the Honors Program.

Dr. Stout welcomed Dr. Martha Bradley, Dr. George L. Granger and Dr. Willene Paxton as new board members elected at the annual meeting on October 18, 2002. He also expressed appreciation to Jean Copeland and Dr. Harry Powell who are rotating off of the board.

Dr. Stout recognized Dr. Pat Eachus, Regional Health Officer for the seven county Northeast Tennessee Region. Dr. Eachus explained that the Tennessee Department of Health is developing plans to vaccinate the entire population of the state against smallpox, in a ten day period, should this become necessary as a result of a bio-terrorist attack.  Dr. Eachus pointed out that there would be two vaccination clinics for Washington County with the sites being the mini-dome on the ETSU campus and David Crockett High School. There would be a need for 200 volunteers for each clinic. The clinics would vaccinate 5,000 people per day for 10 days and would operate for two eight hour shifts daily.

The board was very receptive to Dr. Eachus' request and pledged their support for the program.

The next presentation was by Associate Professor Linda J. Kerley, President of the Faculty Senate.  Dr. Kerley explained the Proposal for Needs Assistance Program for Retired Faculty. The program proposes to identify needs and provide volunteer assistance in the areas of visitation, holiday remembrances, purchase of small items such as toiletries and making known larger needs of the individual to a Faculty Senate committee. She solicited ideas and thoughts in regard to the proposal.  The board felt this was a needed program and encouraged its development.   

Dr. Stout recognized Dr. Tom Coates and Joyce Duncan relative to the program "RESPONSE-ETSU".  This is a University wide initiative created with the goal of providing an opportunity for students, staff, and faculty to come together in a cadre for the purpose of being prepared to respond to emergencies and disaster in the surrounding region.  The board was very interested and gave their support to the program.

The minutes of the September 24, 2002 meeting were approved as distributed by a motion by Dr. Jay Allen and a second by Mrs. Betty Tester.

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE: Dr. Dorman Stout, Chair

Dr. Stout presented the following list of nominees for officers for 2003:    

President:                     Ms. Betty Moore
President-Elect:            Ms. Joan Dressel
Secretary                      Dr. Charles Votaw
Treasurer                      Mrs. Betty Tester

The board approved the slate of officers by acclamation.

Dr. Stout announced an open house tour for the entire membership on Thursday, December 12, 2002 at 3 p.m. in the Jerry Robertson Athletic Medicine Center (BucSports).  Refreshments will be provided. Dr. Harry Powell, Chair of the Communication Committee, is being asked to publicize this announcement by calling the membership.

MEMBERSHIP COMMITTEE: Dr. Barbara Humphrys, Chair

No report.

FINANCE COMMITTEE: Mrs. Betty Tester, Chair

Mrs. Tester distributed the Financial Report which showed an Operating Fund of $2,487.73; Life Membership Account of $10,700; Scholarship Endowment Investment Account of $54,592.61; and Endowment Interest Income Account of $1,200.50.

PROGRAM COMMITTEE: Ms. Betty Moore, Chair

Ms. Moore reported on the Annual Meeting and Luncheon held October 18, 2002 stating there were 84 people registered with 81 in attendance and that expenses exceeded income by $141.82.


No report.

LIAISON COMMITTEE: Dr. Bill Fisher, Chair

Dr. Fisher shared three handouts which he noted that State Revenues came in $26 million below budget estimates in October despite the implementation of this summers tax increase.  He also noted that the leaders of Tennessee's Public Colleges and Universities need to make the case to Governor-elect Phil Bredesen that they remain about $100 million behind their neighboring states despite sharp increases in tuition according to State Treasurer Steve Adams.

SERVICE COMMITTEE:  Dr. A. Keith Turkett, Chair

Dr. Turkett reported his committee had tried to meet the requests he has received. Dr. Turkett solicited suggestions on how to recruit volunteers from a very busy membership.

The next board meeting will be Tuesday, January 28, 2003.

There being no further business the meeting adjourned at 4:45 p.m.

Respectively submitted,


Harold K. Johnson, Secretary  

Back to ETSURA

Horizontal Line

ETSU Logo with link to ETSU Home Page

HR Logo with link to home page

Back to ETSU Home 

Back to ETSU Human Resources Page

Mailing Address:  Office of Human Resources
ETSU Box 70564
Johnson City, TN  37614-1707
Telephone:  423-439-4457
Fax:  423-439-8354
TDD:  423-439-4710

Office Hours:  8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. E.S.T. Monday - Friday
Office Location:  Rooms 307 and 311, Dossett Hall


Updated on 11/15/05