Search Options ETSU Faculty/Staff
ETSU Students

ETSU People Search

skip to main content columnskip to left navigationskip to horizontal navigation


College of Public Health

Working Group Receives National Honorable Mention


The Prescription Drug Abuse/Misuse Working Group at East Tennessee State University received an honorable mention for the inaugural Public Health Excellence in Interprofessional Education Collaboration Award

In addition to a single overall winner of the award, the United States Public Health Service and the Interprofessional Education Collaborative recognized honorable mention winners in five categories.  The Center was recognized in the Community Empowerment and Education category. The group nominated included Dr. Rob Pack and Ms. Angela Hagaman from the College of Public Health as well as Dr. Nicholas Hagemeier and Dr. Fred Tudiver, from the College of Pharmacy and the College of Medicine, respectively. 

A joint effort between the United States Public Health Service and the Interprofessional Education Collaborative, the Excellence in Interprofessional Education Collaboration Award is presented to a team of health professional students and/or faculty, whose interdisciplinary work has significantly impacted the community they serve. Nominees for the award are existing health professional school-based collaborations and initiatives that demonstrate the vision for team-based, community-oriented practice. The teams were evaluated on their contribution towards the tenets of public health promotion through multidisciplinary collaboration among health professionals and the community.

“Public health starts with education,” emphasizes Rear Admiral Pamela M. Schweitzer, Pharm.D., BCACP, Chief Professional Officer of Pharmacy, U.S. Public Health Service. “To build a strong community health infrastructure, we must continue to learn collaboratively and serve collectively. In doing so, we can effectively promote and advance the health of our Nation.” 

icon for left menu icon for right menu