High school seniors who are competitive applicants to East Tennessee State University (ETSU), on track to graduate in the spring, and attending high school in one of the counties listed below, are eligible to be nominated. High schools with 200 or more seniors may nominate 2 students; other high schools may nominate 1 student.

Northeast TN counties: Carter, Cocke, Greene, Hancock, Hawkins, Johnson, Sevier, Sullivan, Unicoi, Washington

Southwest VA counties: Grayson, Lee, Scott, Washington

Western NC counties: Ashe, Avery, Haywood, Madison, Mitchell, Watauga, Yancey