An evening at The Summit Awards Ceremony

Numerous Roan Scholars were among the student leaders recognized at the 2013 Summit Awards Ceremony, ETSU’s premier recognition event for outstanding campus programs and distinguished student leaders. Each spring, this event celebrates the superior accomplishments of students outside the classroom. Held in the Millennium Centre ballroom and attended by hundreds of students, parents, faculty, and staff, this reception and awards ceremony capped off an exciting and event-filled year for both ETSU and the Roan Scholars Leadership Program.

As in past years, Roan Scholars earned recognition in multiple areas, both for individual excellence and for outstanding leadership of various organizations and campus events. Those receiving awards were:

Emily Eisenhower ’13, a member of Alpha Delta Pi sorority, who was recognized as the ‘Outstanding Greek President.’

Lucas Hitechew ’14, who received the inaugural ‘SGA Tait White Award,’ established this year to honor the memory of Tait Obadiah White, an ETSU senior and Midway Honors student who passed away unexpectedly during fall term 2012 as the result of a rare blood disorder.

Zach McCamey ’15, named ‘Associate Justice of the Year’ for his outstanding work with the judicial branch of ETSU’s Student Government Association.

Erika Wild ’14, who was named the ‘Panhellenic Outstanding Greek Woman’ and selected as one of only six ETSU students included in this year’s edition of the prestigious “Who’s Who Among American Students in Colleges and Universities.” Erika, a member of Alpha Delta Pi sorority, also played a leading role in organizing last fall’s “Freedom Rocks” voter awareness / registration event, which was recognized as the year’s ‘Outstanding Educational Program.’

Congratulations to Emily, Lucas, Zach, and Erika; and to all the Summit award recipients!