FACULTY SENATE MINUTES					
Meeting Date:	08/18/2020	Time:	9:30 – 9:45	Location:	Zoom
Next Meeting:	08/18/2020			Scribe:	Ashley Sergiadis
Present:	Blackhart, Ginette; Brown, Patrick; Burford, Mike; Byington, Randy; Chen, Yi-Yang; Cherry, Donna; Collins, Charles; Dunn, Andrew; Emma, Todd; Epps, Susan; Evanshen, Pam; Foley, Virginia; Fraysier, Donna; Garris, Bill; Hagemeier, Nick; Hemphill, Bill; Hemphill, Jean; Hendrix, Stephen; Holmes, Alan; Johnson, Jeanna Michelle (Mikki); Johnson, Michelle; Livingston, James; Lyons, Renee; Mackara, Fred; McGarry, Theresa; Oh, Sunny; Olson, Nate; O'Neil, Kason; Owens, Bea; Peterson, Jonathan; Sargsyan, Alex; Sergiadis, Ashley; Silver, Ken; Trogen, Paul; Walden, Rachel				
Absent:	Anand, Rajani; Burns, Bracken; Drinkard-Hawkshawe, Dorothy; Ellis, Jon; Gray, Jeffrey; Kim, Sookhyn; Kostrzewa, Richard; Marek, Greta; Ramsey, Priscilla; Sarkodie, Olga; Stone, William; Taylor, Teresa Brooks				
Excused:	Alexander, Katelyn; Sellers, Eric				

Agenda Items

Meeting called to order

- 1. Roll Call
- 2. Approval of Minutes from April 20th Faculty Senate Meeting
- 3. Approval of Minutes from July 15th Special Called Meeting of Faculty Senate
- 4. Committee on Committee Reports Dr. Susan Epps
- 5. University Committee Reports
- 6. Old Business
- 7. New Business
- 8. Recognition of Outgoing Senators
- 9. Recognition of 2019-2020 Executive Committee
- 10. Adjourn

DISCUSSIONS

- 1. Roll Call
- 2. Approval of Minutes from April 20th Faculty Senate Meeting

Hendrix questioned whether there was an objection to approving the minutes from the 04/20/2020 meeting.

No Objection: Minutes Approved

3. Approval of Minutes from July 15th Special Called Meeting of Faculty Senate

Hendrix questioned whether there was an objection to approving the minutes from the 07/15/2020 meeting.

No Objection: Minutes Approved

- 4. Committee on Committee Reports Dr. Susan Epps
 - 4.1 Committee on Committee changed its structure. Appointments requiring a Senator will go through the Faculty Senate. Appointments requiring faculty, but not necessarily Senators, will go through the new

DISCUSSIONS

process. Vacancies will be posted on the <u>Faculty Senate website</u> and advertised in the Weekly Update for Faculty and Staff.

4.2 Updates were provided on appointments filled since the last regular Senate meeting. These appointments take effect in the 2020-2021 academic year.

Tenure and Promotion Appeals (back-up to Bill Hemphill) – Chuck Collins Quality and Effectiveness Sub-Council – Donna Fraysier Graduate Council – Michelle Johnson IRB – Bill Garris (through 2023) Undergraduate Curriculum Committee – Sookhyun Kim (through 2023) Disclosure Review Committee – Donna Cherry (through 2021)

4.3 **Walden** asked if the Faculty Senate work group rosters were on the website. **Hendrix** replied that there are no current work groups at this time. They will be determined within the next few weeks.

5. University Committee Reports

- 5.1 Community Engagement Task Force Dr. Jean Hemphill

 The task force completed their work in July and the report was sent to Dr. Bishop for review.
- 5.2 Promotion and Tenures Appeals Committee Dr. Randy Byington
 The committee heard one appeal last academic year. The appeal report was sent to Dr. Noland for his consideration.
- 5.3 Research Advisory Council Dr. Jonathan Peterson

The council has worked on resolving issues with human subject research, specifically those face-to-face. If you have issues regarding human subject research, contact Dr. Bill Duncan's office as well as the IRB. A new e-grant management system will be rolled out this semester, which will save time routing forms and managing grants. Due to COVID's disruption, they are working on extending RDC grants and rolling over funds.

5.4 Parking Committee – Dr. Paul Trogen The committee has not been active.

6. Old Business

None.

7. New Business

None.

- 8. Recognition of Outgoing Senators
 - 8.1 The following senators were recognized for completing their terms of service:

College of Arts and Sciences: Drinkard-Hawkshawe, Dorothy; Dunn, Andrew; Gregg, Chris; Olson, Nate; Oh, Sunny; Park, Esther; Sellers, Eric; Trogen, Paul; College of Business and Technology: Hemphill, Bill; Mackara, Fred; College of Clinical & Rehabilitative Health Sciences: Byington, Randy; Owens, Bea; College of Nursing: Marek, Greta; College of Public Health: Peterson, Jonathan; Clemmer College: O'Neil, Kason; Taylor, Teresa Brooks; Gatton College of Pharmacy: Gray, Jeffrey; Quillen College of Medicine: Anand, Rajani; Burns, Bracken; Kostrzewa, Richard; Sarkodie, Olga; Retirees Association: Ramsey, Priscilla

9. Recognition of 2019-2020 Executive Committee



DISCUSSIONS

9.1 Hendrix recognized the 2019-2020 Executive Committee for their service.

Bill Flora, President; Jeff Gray, Vice President; Susan Epps, Past President; Patrick Brown, Chief Operating Officer; Eric Sellers, Secretary; Nate Olson, Treasurer; Bill, Hemphill, TBR Faculty Collaborative Representative; Virginia Foley, Board of Trustees; Alex Sargsyan, At-Large Member; Ginette Blackhart, At-Large Member; Ashley Sergiadis, At-Large Member

10. Adjourn

Motion to Adjourn: Patrick Brown

Second: Nate Olson Meeting Adjourned

Please notify Senator Ashley Sergiadis (<u>sergiadis@etsu.edu</u>, Faculty Senate Secretary, 2020-2021) of any changes or corrections to the minutes.