Division of Student Affairs Staff

Dr. Joe H. Sherlin, Jr., Vice President for Student Affairs

Executive officer of the Division for Student Affairs reporting to the President and serving as a member of university Senior Staff, Academic Council, and Dean's Council.

Dr. Sherlin provides leadership for the Division; develops and approves Division policy and procedure, budgets, staff appointments, appeals, salaries, requisitions, and travel requests; evaluates services and provides leadership for strategic planning.

He is also the Division liaison to campus and community constituents and serves on the Tennessee Board of Regents (TBR) Student Affairs Sub Council; Chairs the Technology Access Fee Committee, and Student Affairs Council, and serves as a resource for students and student organizations.


Dr. Jeff S. Howard, Dean of Students

Assists with supervision and management of the Division. Supervises Adult, Commuter & Transfer Services (ACTS), New Student & Family Programs, Student Conduct, Student Publications, and Campus Services for Veterans. Serves as the team leader of the Academic Affairs/Student Affairs collaborative effort, the Advisement Resources Career Center (ARC) and team leader for the Student Organization Resource Center (SORC).  Serves as the advisor to the Student Government Association.


Assistant Dean of Students - TBA

Serves as the chief judicial officer, advises campus judicial boards, and serves as a member of the University Judicial Board and a campus resource for academic misconduct/integrity matters.  Serves as the central office liaison for campus emergency response, serving as a member of both the Student Behavior Management (SBMT) and Critical Incident Response Teams (CIRT). 


Heather Levesque, Director of New Student & Family Programs

Responsible for New Student & Family Programs including New Student Orientation, Parent Orientation, Welcome Week, Family Weekend, Preview, and the Parent Pride newsletter.  Advises the Preview and Orientation Leader Organization (POLO).  Serves as the Division liaison to other offices and areas regarding first year students including ETSU 1000 and first year Living and Learning Communities.


Janice Gilbert, Office Coordinator

Provides administrative support for the Vice President for Student Affairs and assists in planning and preparation of Division's Assessment/Planning system, support for Technology Access Fee Committee, and support for the university Student Conduct system. 







Theresa Marlow, Office Coordinator

Provides administrative support to the Associate Vice President for Student Affairs; Director of Multicultural Affairs; Student Government Association; Student Affairs Council; ETSU Gospel Ensemble; and Black Affairs Association.





Nancy Meredith, Executive Aide

Provides administrative support to the Associate Dean of Students and New Student & Family Programs, as well as serving as the face and voice of Student Affairs at the Division of Student Affairs central office front desk.