skip to main content columnskip to left navigation

Community Service Programs

Student Organization Resource Center

Agency Partnership Directory

Organization

Type of Service

Number

Contact

Email

2nd Harvest

Our mission is to feed the hungry in Northeast Tennessee by securing and distributing food and engaging our community in the fight to end hunger through regional partnerships, programs, and education. 423-279-0430 x225 Tina Lavine volunteers@netfoodbank.org

Agape Nursing and Rehabilitation

Agape Nursing and Rehabilitation Center provides individualized long-term care in a comfortable and friendly environment. 423-975-2000  Missy Garrison  activities@agapenrc.com

Agape Women's Service

At Agape Women's Services women can receive free services offered in a caring and confidential setting. Agape specializes in pregnancy and sexual health issues. 423-926-3788 Beth Koscak agapejc2273@gmail.com

Alzheimer's Assoc.

Alzheimer's Education and Events 423-928-4080 Tyler West  twest@alz.org

America Reads

The America Reads Office in the Department of Counseling and Human Services at ETSU recruits, hires and trains college students to provide one-on-one and small group reading instruction to children in the region who read below a third grade level. 423-439-7776 Teresa Brooks Taylor

American Red Cross Blood Services

  423-378-8700 Tom Hensley thomas.hensley@redcross.org

American Red Cross Disaster and Service to Armed Forces

  423-765-4222 Glenda Bobalik glenda.bobalik@redcross.org

Animal Shelter Thrift Store

  423-483-2511 Mickii Carter mickiicarter@comcast.net

Appalachian Region Coalition on Homelessness (ARCH)

ARCH currently provides direct services to veterans or veteran families who are or at rick for becoming homeless as well as referrals to community links if not a veteran. 423-928-2724   arch@appalachianhomeless.org

Appalachia Service Project

ASP provides one of the most rewarding structured service opportunities in the nation bringing thousands of volunteers from around the country to rural Central Appalachia to repair homes for low-income families. 423-854-4423 Rachel Robertson recruitment@asphome.org

Area Agency on Aging/1st TN Development District

Information & Assistance, Service Coordination, intake for the CHOICES program, Public Guardianship, Insurance Counseling, Home and Community Based Services for older adults and other adults with disabilities, health evidence based programs 423-722-5107
423-722-5105
Ryan Ramsey rramsey@ftaaad.org

Big Brothers/Big Sisters of East Tennessee

Provide children facing adversity with strong and enduring, professionally supported one-to-one relationships that change their lives for the better, forever. 423-247-3240 x2 Katie Carrico kcarrico@tennesseebig.org

Blood Assurance

Blood Assurance is a non-profit, full-service regional blood center serving 51 counties and more than 70 health care facilities in Tennessee, Georgia, Alabama, North Carolina and Virginia.  423-430-2687 Mike Patterson mikepatterson@bloodassurance.org

Boys and Girls Club

Club programs and services promote and enhance the development of boys
  and girls by instilling a sense of competence, usefulness, belonging and influence.
423-461-4560 x1001 Robin Crumley rcrumley@gokidz.org

Bristol Crisis Center

Offer the communities we serve education, advocacy and intervention allowing individuals to find positive solutions for personal crises. Through support, hope and education we strive to restore emotional balance to both individuals and the communities in which they live. 276-466-2218 Heather Sanders hsanders@crisiscenterinc.org

Brookdale Johnson City

Brookdale Johnson City is a senior living community that offers personalized Assisted Living and Alzheimer and Dementia Care. We are dedicated to enhancing health, wellness and lifestyle. 423-915-0110 Nikki Marley nmarley@brookdale.com

Bucky's Pantry

Bucky's Food Pantry diminishes or ends hunger on ETSU campus for all students, faculty and staff in the most convenient, discreet and easily accessible means possible. 423-439-6013 Helen Jones

Carver Recreation Center

After school program for ages 6-18  423-461-8830 Tamara Foster hgreenlee@johnsoncitytn.org

CHIPS Family Violence Shelter

Shelter, Rapid Re-Housing and outreach services to victims of domestic violence only (423) 743-0022 Renae Tipton chipsfvs@gmail.com

Coalition For Kids

The Coalition is a non-profit organization with a mission to help children in need through after school services like: help with homework, reading and math assistance, music and art lessons, athletics, special preventive programs for violence and substance abuse, and a free snack and dinner. 423-434-2031 Cynthia Young cyoung@coalitionforkids.org

CONTACT Ministries 211

211 Information & Referral, Helpline, Reassurance Calls 423-926-0140 Lydia Blackwell lblackwell@contact211jc.org 

Cumberland Trail Conference

 501(3)(c) non profit building the Cumberland Trail 931-456-6259 Marianne Mailhiot ctcoffice2014@gmail.com

Donate Life

Tennessee Donor Services (TDS) is committed to save and improve lives by connecting people through organ and tissue donation and transplantation.   423.915.0808  Sharon Pakis spakis@dcids.org

ETSU Office of Sustainability

The mission of the ETSU Department of Sustainability is to develop and provide support for sustainability initiatives within the campus and community in order to cultivate a thriving culture of sustainability throughout operations, research, education, community service, and student life. 423-439-7766 Kathleen Moore

Family Promise of Greater Johnson City

The mission of Family Promise of Greater Johnson City (FPJC) is to help homeless and low income families achieve sustainable independence. They provide a network of faith congregations and community agencies to promote a collaborative response for homeless families with children. 423-202-7805 Alison Smith alison@familypromisejc.com

First TN Human Resources Agency

FTHRA provides essential services to people in need in Carter, Greene, Johnson, Hancock, Hawkins, Sullivan, Unicoi & Washington Counties in Northeast Tennessee. Including transportation, domestic violence shelter, basic computer skills, employment opportunities for those 55 and older, adult day services, personal support services, minor home modification, probation services and evening respite. 423-461-8217 Stephanie Walker swalker@fthra.org

First TN Human Resources Agency - Adult Day Services

day care for adults that are physically, mentally, emotionally or developmentally disabled or those who are frail due to advanced age 423-928-8855 Pam Gardner pgardner@fthra.org

Frontier Health

Frontier Health strives to continue to be a leader in establishing and demonstrating local, regional and national standards of excellence for accessible and high quality behavioral health, intellectual and developmental disabilities, and vocational services. 423-232-2665 Lisa Christian lchristian@frontierhealth.org

Girls Incorporated

After School and Summer Camp for girls ages 5-16 423-928-4251 Nikki Hughes 1nhughes@embarqmail.com

Girls on the Run of Northeast Tennessee

We inspire girls to be joyful, healthy and confident using a fun, experience-based curriculum which creatively integrates running. 423-502-6910 Melissa Fleming melissa.fleming@girlsontherun.org

Good Samaritan Ministries

Good Samaritan Ministries works with individuals and families on long-term solutions for their financial, emotional, and spiritual well being. 423-928-0288 Candance
Noah
volunteer@goodsamjc.org

Hands On! Museum

The mission of Hands On! is to inspire discovery and understanding of science and the arts in a place where learning and fun go hand in hand. 423-434-4263x102 Andy Marquart main@handsonmuseum.org

Holston Habitat for Humanity

Partner with families to provide a home, also do home repairs 423-335-5573 Barry Osborne shilohridge@embarqmail.com

Insight Alliance

Develop a safer, healthier community through prevention by developing and implementing strategies that change the knowledge, attitudes and practices of the community through a collaborative network with the goal to prevent the onset and reduce the progression of substance use, including underage drinking, reduce substance related problems, and build prevention capacities and infrastructure in Washington County. 877-366-7593 Jennifer Berven jenn@insightalliance.org

JC Housing Authority Resident Services

The mission of the Johnson City Housing Authority is to cost effectively assist eligible very low and low income families by providing opportunities for affordable housing and socioeconomic advancement in a discrimination-free environment; and to affirmatively address the physical needs of the Authority's housing developments to ensure a decent, safe, and sanitary environment for employees and residents. 423-926-3225 Vivian Clayman vclayman@jchousing.org

Johnson City Senior Center

  423-434-6233 Kamela Easlic keaslic@jcseniorcentertn.com 

Lakebridge Health Center

Elderly Care- Long Term Care Facility 423-975-0095x308 Pandora Abbott activities@lakebridgehealthcarecenter.com

MARSH

  423-408-7503 Ray Bell
Maci Lewis
charles.bell@wellmont.org
maci.lewis@wellmont.org

MSHA/JCMC

  423-431-3543 Jackie O'Sullivan OsullivanJT@msha.com 

One Acre Cafe, Inc.

Non-profit café with the mission to nourish the body, replenish the spirit, and grow the community so that all might be fed 423-483-0517 Michelle Watts oneacrecafe@gmail.com

Pine Oaks Assisted Living

  423-232-5504   Barbara Bowling bbowling@christianvillage.org

Rise Up!

Mentoring and After School Program (423)610-1242 Andy Malcolm andy@RiseUpForKids.com

Rocky Mount Historical Association

Education/ Historic Interpretation of the First Capital of the Southwest Territory (pre-statehood Tennessee) and the 18th century home of William Cobb and Family 423-538-7396 Gary Walrath
Kristin Turner
gwalrath@rockymountmuseum.com

Ronald McDonald House

Provides a temporary home-away-from-home for children and families of seriously ill children throughout the Southern Appalachian region (423)975-5437 Leah Holt lholt@rmhsa.org

Safe Passage

A Domestic Violence Shelter For Women & Children 423-232-8920 Lynn Armstrong / Tom Sahlin      safepassageinfo@fthra.org

Salvation Army

The Salvation Army, an international movement, is an evangelical part of the universal Christian
Church. Its message is based on the Bible. Its ministry is motivated by the love of God. Its mission
is to preach the gospel of Jesus Christ and to meet human needs in His name without discrimination.
926-2101 x.306 Lori Wells lori.wells@uss.salvationarmy.org

The ARC of Washington Co.

The Arc Washington County's mission is to enable persons of all ages with disabilities to live as contributing, valued members of the community by creating partnerships that foster nurturing communities where people with disabilities can live their vision of a valued life. 928-9362 Malessa Fleenor malessa@arcwc.org

The Melting Pot

The Melting Pots original outreach was to residents of the John Sevier Center across the street following the Christmas Eve fire of 1989, and its outreach is now nearly 365 days broad. Open Door Worship, Our Daily Bread, Shepherds Breakfast, and Fellowship activities are ministries that are provided. 461-8070x243 Patty Muse pattymuse@munsey.org

The River

The mission of The River is to create a safe place for all women to wash clothes and learn new ways to care for themselves and family through non-threatening hands on activities with a Christ-centered approach. The River provides a variety of services and a place for women to share life stories and prayer.  423-926-8111 Stacy Larsen stacylp@charter.net 

Tipton-Haynes Historic Site

State Historic Site with education programs for all ages and all type of groups including students, adults, the elderly 423-926-3631 John Parrish tiptonhaynes@embarqmail.com

Trinity Arts Center

Trinity Arts Center is dedicated to a three-fold mission: developing high quality arts education programs that are consistent with Christian principles; supporting the personal, professional, and spiritual growth of Christian artists in the region; and creating opportunities for our students, instructors, and partners to serve, love, and share the Gospel of Jesus Christ with those in the Johnson City and Tri-Cities communities.  423-926-6048 Jamin Rathbun jamin@trinityartscenter.com

United Way of Wash. Co.

The mission of United Way is to improve people's lives by mobilizing the caring power of communities. 423-282-5682 Lainey Howard communityimpactuw@centurylink.net

VA

  926-1171 ext. 2470 Stephanie Justus stephanie.justus@va.gov

Washington Co. Animal Shelter

  423-926-8769 Karyn Carriger jcanimalshelter@embarqmail.com

Youth Villages

Youth Villages' Johnson City, Tenn., office provides: intensive in-home services, foster care and adoption, transitional living, and crisis services. Their mission is to help children and families live successfully. 423-283-6527 Aisha Ellerson aisha.ellerson@youthvillages.org 
icon for left menu icon for right menu