skip to main content columnskip to left navigationskip to horizontal navigation

University Advancement

East Tennessee State University

Chairs of Excellence

Chairs of Excellence are endowed positions occupied by outstanding professionals who focus on specific fields of study that will advance a university's service to its students, community, and region. The Tennessee legislature began the statewide program in 1984 by making available matching funds for qualifying institutions. Click below to read about the eight established chairs.


AFG Industries Chair of Excellence in Business and Technology
Allen and Ruth Harris Chair of Excellence in Business

Carroll H. Long Chair of Excellence in Surgical Research

Cecile Cox Quillen Chair of Excellence in Geriatrics and Gerontology

James H. Quillen Chair of Excellence in Education

LeeAnne Brown and ETSU Physicians & Associates Chair of Excellence

Paul Dishner Chair of Excellence in Medicine

Wayne G. Basler Chair of Excellence for the Integration of the Arts, Rhetoric, and Science


icon for left menu icon for right menu