skip to main content columnskip to left navigation

ETSU Main Department Name

School Name

Phi Kappa Phi announces new members

Wednesday, November 12, 2008JOHNSON CITY—The East Tennessee State University chapter of The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi has announced the induction of new members.

Phi Kappa Phi, founded in 1897 at the University of Maine, is “the nation’s oldest, largest and most selective all-discipline honor society” with chapters on nearly 300 campuses in the United States, Puerto Rico and the Philippines.

Since the society’s founding, more than a million individuals have been selected for membership, which is extended only to those among the top 10 percent of seniors, 7.5 percent of juniors, the top 10 percent of candidates for graduate degrees, or faculty, professional staff, and alumni who have achieved scholarly distinction.

The ETSU juniors, seniors, and graduate students from Tennessee who recently earned this honor include Belinda R. Wilson, Afton; Avani Javer, Chattanooga; Amber D. Newsome, Church Hill; Matthew Douglas, Cleveland; Mimi Elizabeth Shaffer, Cordova; Kimberly Diane Hanley and Marilyn Sherry Yates, Erwin; Christopher Michael Cowan and Jennifer Luzette Stire, Gray; Barbara Cutshaw Ramsey, Greeneville; Haley Klimecki, Hixson; Karen Elizabeth Minter Burke, Amanda Clouse, Aneel Kiran Deshmukh, Tazley Ann Hotz, Elizabeth Michele Jackson, Bing Li, Cathy S. Parks, Tara Renae Samples, Deborah Corinne Stephens and Amanda Brook Sullivan, all of Johnson City; Kristy LeAnn Bellamy, Jonathon P. Fields, Kimberly L. Harkleroad, Jennifer Hilton-Rutherford, Sabrina Pollard and Ian Micah Smith, all of Kingsport; William Thornton Crawford, Knoxville; Linda K. Tilson, Kodak; Davida Joyce Rogers, Memphis; Alex B. Greer and Jodi Lynn Patricola, Piney Flats; Emily Nicole Cordell, Roan Mountain; Rebecca Michele Burton, Rogersville; and Lori Bellar Goodin, Sevierville.

Out-of-state students inducted into Phi Kappa Phi include Kathryn Ellen Shipp, Dallas, Ga.; Joshua Charles Courtney, Cumberland, Md.; Landon Everett Stigall, Boone, N.C.; Casey Amber Willis, Vale, N.C.; Heather H. Dutton, Bristol, Va.; Amber M. Viers, Honaker, Va.; Katie D. Murphy, Pocahontas, Va.; and Stacey L. Bryant, Woodlawn, Va.


icon for left menu icon for right menu