skip to main content columnskip to left navigation

ETSU Main Department Name

School Name

ETSU’s second Habitat for Humanity house dedicated

Friday, December 05, 2008JOHNSON CITY—The East Tennessee State University 2008 Habitat for Humanity house at 705 Franklin Street has now been dedicated and the keys presented to Teddy and Rita Ingram and their six children.

To raise funds for this worthwhile project, ETSU instituted two awards. Each year, engraved nameplates for the top fundraisers will be added to a special plaque recognizing the recipients.

The Paul E. Stanton Jr. Award acknowledges the guidance and support for service to the region provided by the university’s eighth president. The honor is given to the ETSU college or other academic/administrative unit that raises the most funds to support construction of the house. The 2008 winner is the Claudius G. Clemmer College of Education, with the College of Business and Technology in second place.

A similar contest was held for ETSU student groups competing for the Wyeth Lawson Award, named for the former ETSU graduate student, now a university employee, who organized and encouraged student support for the initial ETSU Habitat project last year.

The 2008 winners of the Lawson Award are the ETSU Wesley Foundation (United Methodist), followed by the Entrepreneurs Club, with third place honors going to Kappa Omicron Nu, the honor society for students in the Department of Family and Consumer Sciences.

By the time of the house dedication on Dec. 2, some $33,600 had been raised.

Contributions from the public should be designated “For ETSU Build,” and may be mailed to Holston Habitat for Humanity, P.O. Box 5265, Kingsport, TN 37663, or contributed online at All gifts are tax-deductible to the extent permitted by law.

icon for left menu icon for right menu