CHS News

Summer 2015

As of July 2015, all four of our Counseling Program concentrations are accredited by the Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs!


Spring 2015


Faculty Awards
Jamie Kridler - Outstanding Service
Cecil Blankenship - Collaboration

Staff Awards
Trish Lowe - Support Staff

Student Awards
Rickie Carter - Outstanding Graduate Student
Michelle Kelly - Outstanding Student
Damian McClintock - Outstanding Field Experience
Elick Combs, III - Outstanding Student Worker
Liz Leinaar - Outstanding Graduate Assistant
Antonina Ignatiuc - Outstanding Tuition Scholar






Fall 2014

The Department of Counseling and Human Services has released its first newsletter!
Click here to check it out!

Matt Brown, a second year graduate student in the Counseling Master's program, was a recipient of the ETSU Patricia E. Robertson Diversity Leadership Award. To read more about Matt and the award, click here.


Summer 2014

New Hires

Please welcome Aminda Miles, Department Secretary, and Dr. Bill Garris, Human Services Assistant Professor.


Community Service Projects

•Dr. Jamie Kridler provides services through the Forth Judicial Court Clinic.
•Dr. Jamie Kridler conducted the research project “PASS: Positive Alternatives to School Suspension”.
Professional Organization Leadership
•Dr. Rebekah Byrd- served as President-elect Tennessee Association of Counselor Education and Supervision (President 14-15) and President of the Watauga Counseling Association


◦Dr. Mary Langenbrunner awarded $10,000 through the Administrative Offices of Courts to work with high conflict divorcing families.
◦Dr. Joyce Duncan (with Linda Bearfield) was awarded an Instructional Development Grant: Poverty Simulation and facilitated 2 of these programs last year.

Accreditation Status

◦Human Services successfully applied for accreditation in Spring 2014 and are beginning their self-study.
◦Counseling successfully submitted the accreditation self-study in February 2014 and will have a site visit in February 2015.
State, National, and Regional Awards
◦Dr. Janna Scarborough (with colleagues) received the 2013 Outstanding Research Award from the Association of Counselor Education and Supervision
◦Dr. Janna Scarborough- 2013 Counselor Educator of the Year from the Tennessee School Counselor Association


Drs. Byrd, Farmer, and Scarborough presented at the
Tennessee Counseling Association Conference in Nashville, TN.
Several Counseling students and ETSU alumni also presented at the state conference.

   Check out pictures from the event:  
TCA Pictures 1

 TCA Pictures 2

The Counseling Program's Dr. Brent Morrow is the director of the
International Friendship Program 
and International Buccaneer Buddies.
Please see the invitation to participate.

For more information, see the International Friendship Program website or
like them on Facebook.

Morrow International
Byrd Book Byrd

Dr. Rebekah Byrd
is the lead editor of
a new School Counseling textbook! 

Duncan Taylor

Coming Full Circle

Dr. Joyce Duncan and Teresa Brooks Taylor co-authored Coming Full Circle: A Guide to Service Learning published in 2012. Published by Cognella Academic Publications.

"Coming Full Circle is a unique stand-alone text for courses that connect service to the community to the acquisition of academic knowledge - courses that ask students to venture into the outside world, and engage in the problems and projects of the communities surrounding their schools."

Human Services Faculty members: Steve Cockerham, Cecil Blankship, Jamie Kridler, Mary Langenbrunner, and Teresa Brooks Taylor
attended and presented at the Southern Organization for Human Services.

Dr. Cockerham serves as the immediate past president!



direct edit