skip to main content columnskip to left navigationskip to horizontal navigation

Department of Internal Medicine

Quillen College of Medicine

Inside Internal Medicine - Volume 2 Article 1

The Department of Internal Medicine was well represented at the 2017 Tennessee American College of Physicians scientific meeting held October 27-28, 2017 in Franklin Tennessee.

Two medical students presented research posters in the medical student competition. Adam Chan MS2 (co-authors David Samuels PhD and Maciej Buchowski PhD) presented “Metformin use is associated with mitochondrial DNA (mtDNA) haplogroups in Caucasian adults with type 2 diabetes” based on research conducted during his participation in the Vanderbilt Medical Student Research Training Program. Hunter Bratton MS2 (co-authors Eric Beaumont PhD and Regenia Campbell PhD) presented “Vagus Nerve Stimulation Attenuates Incidence of Apoptotic Enterocytes in Heart Failure Model” based on his participation in the Quillen Medical Student Health Sciences Research Fellowship.

Four medical students also presented case reports. Heidi Dahl MS3 (co-authors Jennifer Treece MD MBA PGY3, Zia Rahman MD cardiology fellow, Sowminya Arikapudi MD, Terry Forrest MD, and Harold Alison MD) – “Evaluation and Management of a Rare Complication of Bicuspid Aortic Valve”, Benjamin Nolt MS3 (co-authors Emmanuel Addo-Yobo MD PGY 2, Jennifer Treece MD MBA PGY3, Chidinma Onweni MD PGY3, Ahmad A Albalbissi MD PGY 2, and Kenneth Smith MD) “Multifocal Hemorrhagic Transformation following t-PA administration”, Brandon Merical MS4 (co-author Nathan Whaley MD) – “Susac Syndrome: An Encephalopathy with Remarkable Radiologic and Physical Findings” Mention coauthors. Apoorwa Thati MS4 (co-authors Christine Moore, DO PGY2, Joseph Gabriel MD PGY3, and Deidre Pierce, MD) – “Acute Pancreatitis Following Guggul Use: A Case Report”

One resident presented a research poster. Varun Kohli MD PGY1 (co-author Jennifer Treece MD MBA PGY 3) “Atypical presentations, diagnosis and management of disseminated histoplasmosis in patients with HIV: A review article”.

Three resident physicians and one fellow presented case reports. Boonphiphop Boonpheng MD PGY2 (co-author Ghulam Murtaza, MD PGY3) – “Fluoroquinolone-associated muscle tear and hematoma”, Diego Hidalgo MD PGY 2 (co-authors Agnes Hamati MD and Rowena Velilia MD)– “Purple stools in a Patient with Neurofibromatosis I? A Case Report”, Nagaishwarya Moka MD PGY2 (co-author Meredith Janelle MD PGY3) -“Rituximab induced persistent hypogammaglobulinemia “, Dheeraj Reddy MD oncology fellow (co-authors Nagabhishek Moka MD PGY2, Devapiran Jaishankar MD ,and Kanishka Chakraborty MD- “A New Twist to Reno-Pulmonary Syndromes”.

The resident/fellow team participating in the Doctor’s Dilemma (medical jeopardy) competition placed first. Drs. Moka, Kohli, Devani Kalpit, Boonpheng, HIdalgo, and Moore comprised the winning team. This team will have the opportunity to advance to the national competition at Internal Medicine 2018.

Megan Maier MS4 received first prize in the TN ACP Narrative Medicine competition poetry/fiction category for her poem “Flightless Bird: Dancing with Elhers-Danlos”.

Ken Olive MD MACP served as a member of the program committee for the meeting.



Medical Student Participants
Medical student participants: (left to right) Hunter Bratton, Heidi Dahl, Ben Nolt, Adam Chan, Brandon Merical.

Doctor's Dilemma Winners
Doctor’s Dilemma winners: (left to right) Drs. Moka, Kohli, Kalpit, Boonpheng, HIldago, and Moore.

icon for left menu icon for right menu