TBR grants tenure and promotion to ETSU faculty

June 29, 2000

JOHNSON CITY -- Thirty-one faculty at East Tennessee State University were recently promoted and 29 were granted tenure by the university’s governing board, the Tennessee Board of Regents, during its regular June meeting hosted by Roane State Community College in Harriman.

The following faculty were promoted to the rank of assistant professor: Anne G. Koehler, developmental studies; Angela Murphy-Walters and Debbie O’Brien, university library; and Martin Ward, health related professions.

Associate professor status was bestowed on 17 faculty: Dr. Izabela T. Burja, pathology; Dr. Christopher J. Downs, James W. Myers and Dr. Jack H. Whitaker, all internal medicine; Dr. Michael M. McKinney and Dr. Phillip E. Miller, both management and marketing; Dr. Brian G. Mohney, surgery; Catherine Murray, art and design; Dr. Peter Panus, physical therapy; Dr. Phillip E. Pfeiffer IV, computer and information sciences; Dr. Lynda Reeves, physical education, exercise and sport sciences; Dr. Robert V. Schoborg, microbiology; Dr. Dorothy Sluss, human development and learning; Celia Szarejko, university library; Dr. Burl Williams Jr., health sciences; Dr. Jack R. Woodside, family medicine; and Dr. John Wright, criminal justice and criminology.

Ten faculty achieved the rank of full professor: Dr. Douglas P. Dotterweich, economics and finance; Dr. Mark Holland, English; Dr. John H. Kalbfleisch, section of medical education; Dr. Carol Macnee, family/community nursing; Dr. Sue McCoy and Dr. David N. Walters, surgery; Dr. Merry N. Miller and Dr. Patrick Sloan, psychiatry; Dr. Paul Monaco, anatomy and cell biology; and Dr. M. Salah Shurbaji, pathology.

The following 15 were granted tenure in addition to their promotions: Burja, Downs, McKinney, M. Miller, P. Miller, Murray, Myers, Panus, Pfeiffer, Schoborg, Sluss, Whitaker, Williams, Woodside and Wright.

And, 14 additional faculty received tenure: Dr. Thomas K. Chin, pediatrics; Annis Evans, university library; Dr. James Florence, public health; Robert Funk, communication/division of theater; Tammy Hayes, communication; Dr. Don Hong, mathematics; Dr. Donna Jennings, economics and finance; Linda Lahr, health related professions; Dr. Susan McCabe, professional roles/mental health nursing; Dr. John Osborne, health sciences; Dr. Sandra Palmer-Lopez, foreign languages; Dr. Uta B. Schambra, anatomy and cell biology; Dr. Karen Tarnoff, management and marketing; and Duane Williams, physical therapy.

Back to "News & Events"
Back to ETSU Online Home Page