skip to main content columnskip to left navigationskip to horizontal navigation

Employee Relations

Office of Human Resources

PPP-20 Holidays

pdf iconPPP-20 Holidays

The university observes 7 holidays per year. Designated holidays include: New Year's Day, Martin Luther King, Jr. Day, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving Day and Christmas Day. In addition, the University President may declare six additional holidays to be observed by the university.

When a recognized holiday falls on Saturday, the Friday preceding will be substituted. When a holiday falls on Sunday, the Monday following will be substituted. Where work schedules or duties make it necessary for an employee to work on a holiday, a corresponding amount of time off may be granted.

All regular full-time and part-time employees in an active pay status will qualify for holiday pay for the days listed above. Regular part-time employees receive the holiday benefit on a pro rata basis. The following provisions apply:

  1. Employees who are in active pay status on the work days immediately preceding and following a holiday will receive payment for the holiday.
  2. Any holiday falling within a period of an employee's sick, annual, or other leave with pay shall be considered holiday leave and recorded as such.

Any exceptions to this policy must be submitted to the Chancellor for approval.

 Source:  Tennessee Board of Regents Personnel Policy No. 5:01:01:10

icon for left menu icon for right menu