Frequently Asked Questions

What is a QEP?

The letters QEP stand for "Quality Enhancement Plan." The QEP is a 5 year program to enhance the quality of education at East Tennessee State University. We have initiated a QEP titled "INtopFORM."
Why do we need a QEP?

The QEP is developed as part of our reaffirmation of accreditation by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS). QEP projects are campus-wide initiatives that are designed to focus on an aspect of student learning, and involve students, faculty, staff, alumni, and administrators.
How will the QEP affect me as a student?

As a student, you will benefit from new material and instruction methods that promote information fluency. You will have a chance to flex your intellectual muscles in areas such as curiosity, disciplined skepticism and independent thinking.

You can also demonstrate you information fluency skills and enter the media competition. Completing this competition will enhance your resume, improve your critical thinking skills and help you stand out as a job applicant. As a bonus, you could win some awesome prizes!

How will the QEP affect me as a faculty or staff member?

As a faculty or staff member, you will have the opportunity to develop curriculum that will introduce and enhance information fluency skills. You can also collaborate with a student and enter the media competition, which will provide a mentoring opportunity and a chance to win some great prizes!
Who is leading the QEP?

Dr. Amy Johnson is leading the current QEP initiative at ETSU.

The QEP is also supported by committees. Their membership rosters are listed below.

Development Team

  • Dr. Karin Bartoszuk, School of Graduate Studies
    Department of Human Development and Learning, Clemmer College of Education
  • Dr. Lana Becker, Department of Accountancy, College of Business and Technology
  • Dr. Sally Blowers, College of Nursing
  • Ms. Christy Buckles, Representing graduate students
  • Dr. Shirley Cherry, Department of Allied Health Sciences,
    College of Clinical and Rehabilitative Health Sciences
  • Dr. Scott Contreras-Koterbay, Honors College Department of Art and Design, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Dr. Renee Couch, Student Housing, Division of Student Affairs
  • Mr. Michael Fernando, Representing undergraduate students
  • Dr. Nick Hagemeier, Department of Pharmacy Practice, Gatton College of Pharmacy
  • Dr. Amy Johnson (Chair), Department of Cross-Disciplinary Studies, School of Continuing Studies
  • Dr. Marie Jones, Sherrod Library Center for Academic Achievement, Office of Assessment and Teaching
  • Ms. Samantha Jones, Representing undergraduate students
  • Dr. Bill Kirkwood (Interim Chair), Undergraduate Education; Planning and Analysis
  • Dr. Tony Pittarese, Department of Computer and Information Sciences, College of Business and Technology
  • Dr. Tom Schacht, Department of Psychiatry, Quillen College of Medicine Faculty Senate
  • Dr. Ken Silver, Department of Environmental Health, College of Public Health
  • Dr. Justin Sytsma, Department of Philosophy and Humanities, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Mr. Logan Vess, Representing graduate students
  • Dr. Carla Warner, Adult, Commuter and Transfer Services, Division of Student Affairs
direct edit