ETSU Foundation elects 2013-14 officers, recognizes new members


JOHNSON CITY – During its annual membership meeting today (May 16), the East Tennessee State University Foundation announced the election of officers for its fiscal year beginning July 1.

D. Roger Kennedy was re-elected as chair of the Foundation’s Board of Directors for 2013-14, and M. Thomas Krieger, retired business executive, was re-elected as vice chair .  Both are from Jonesborough.  Leslie Parks Pope, chair of The Parks Group, LLC, Kingsport, is immediate past chair , and Dan Mahoney, Johnson City, is secretary .

Re-elected to serve in their same positions on the board were Dr. Steve Conerly, Management Services/Strategic Planning, Johnson City, treasurer ; Donald R. Raber, president, Aldebaran Financial Inc., Kingsport, chair of the Investment Committee ; Dennis T. Powell, Johnson City, chair of the Planned Giving Advisory Committee ; and Wayne G. Basler, Kingsport, representing past chairs of the board .

The following were elected to serve a three-year term on the board of directors ending June 30, 2016: R.T. (Rab) Summers, Elizabethton; Loretta B. Lyle, Greeneville; Lt. Gen. (Ret.) Ronald V. Hite, Ann Mooneyhan and Guy B. Wilson Jr., Johnson City; and Raymond R. Thomas, Atlanta.

Elected to serve a second three-year term on the board of directors ending June 30, 2016, were: Richard R. Green, Sonia King and J. Dan Mahoney, Johnson City; and Dr. James Gibson and Dr. Roberta T. Herrin, Jonesborough.

Five members who are rotating off the board of directors after two consecutive three-year terms were recognized for their service: K. Newton Raff and Dennis L. Vonderfecht, Johnson City; Frederick “Pal” Barger Jr., Kingsport; Dr. Susan Gentry Williams, Nashville; and David A. Ogle, Sevierville.

The membership of the Foundation is comprised of 480 individuals from throughout the region and across the nation who devote their time and financial resources to the continuous improvement of educational opportunities at ETSU.  The Foundation welcomed 21 new members : Sam LaPorte, Elizabethton; Bob Cantler, Bob Cooper, Dr. Rebecca Copeland, Jack Cox, Dr. Andy Czuchry, Stanley Dunbar, Jeffrey R. Dykes, Marvin Eichorn, Michael Elbers, Candace Jennings, Dr. Thomas E. Kwasigroch, John Speropulos and Dustin Walters, Johnson City; George Little, Jonesborough; Jimmy Denton and Dr. George Milum Testerman, Kingsport; Pauline Douglas, Knoxville; Mike Smith, Atlanta; and Ray and Mary Ruth Gilly Baskette, Tucker, Ga.   

In addition, 34 individuals renewed their membership in the Foundation through June 30, 2021: Lois Clarke, Chris Lee and Mitch Walters, Bristol; Heiskell Winstead, Bulls Gap; Joe LaPorte III, Elizabethton; Stan Puckett and Chuck Whitfield, Greeneville; Jim Baxter, Jeff Bedard, Thomas J. Burleson, Dr. Lyle Crosby, Harold Dishner, Dr. Keith Ellis, Dr. J. Scott Gentry, Chancellor G. Richard Johnson, Gary M. Mabrey III, Dr. Jay Mehta, Neil Owen, Cameron Perry, Philip Scharfstein, P.C. Snapp, J.D. Swartz and Kathryn W. Wilhoit, Johnson City; Nita Summers and Pat Wolfe, Jonesborough; Betty DeVinney, Sherry Dougherty and Wendell Kirk, Kingsport; Tim Busfield, Studio City, Calif.; Joan Dressel, Fridley, Minn.; M. Steven DeCarlo, Charlotte, N.C.; and Lynn Petrey, Hillsboro, Ore.; and Randal Greene, Kilmarnock, Va.  

University President Dr. Brian Noland; ETSU Foundation Chair D. Roger Kennedy; Dr. Richard A. Manahan, vice president for University Advancement and Foundation president/CEO; and the Foundation Board of Directors expressed their appreciation to all these individuals for their support and service to ETSU.

direct edit