skip to main content columnskip to left navigation

University News

College of Business and Technology inducts Hall of Fame members
Sam Wilson Hall

JOHNSON CITY (April 22) — The East Tennessee State University College of Business and Technology inducted the following members into its Hall of Fame during a ceremony on April 21, at the Millennium Centre.

The Lifetime Achievement in Business Award is presented to alumni of the College of Business and Technology who have recorded significant accomplishments in business or public service, and have demonstrated exemplary service to the community and a commitment to the college and university.

John Tweed is co-founder of Warehouse Logistics LLC, a contract distribution services company that was jointly owned with Landair founder, Scott M. Niswonger. Warehouse Logistics later merged with Landair of Greeneville.

During his career of more than 30 years with Landair, Tweed was named chief executive officer in 2000, leading the business for three years as a public company.

Tweed holds a bachelor’s degree in business administration from ETSU and completed two executive education programs in finance and organizational management at Northwestern University’s Kellogg School of Business.

The Excellence in Business Awardis presented to individuals whose work has brought distinction to the College of Business and Technology. Although they do not need to be ETSU graduates, recipients must have significant accomplishments in business or technology, exemplary service to the community and a demonstrated commitment to the College of Business and Technology and ETSU.  

James Brinkley attended what is now University School on the campus of ETSU. After his high school graduation, he entered the university, then known as East Tennessee State College. His education was interrupted by service in the United States Navy, but after serving in the Pacific and being honorably discharged, he returned and completed his undergraduate degree in 1960.

Brinkley and his late wife, Nellie, opened car washes and developed a manufactured home community in Orange Park, Florida.

To assist students who have difficulty affording college, they established the James and Nellie Brinkley Scholarship Endowment. When fully funded, Brinkley Scholars will receive a scholarship to attend ETSU. Brinkley is a member of the ETSU Foundation.

Joe Mitchell “Mitch” Cox, Jr. has been instrumental in creating Johnson City’s business and residential communities through real estate development, general contracting and property management for over 30 years.

Cox has added residential communities to the Tri-Cities area, including Waterbrooke, The Ridges Overlook and Hunter’s Lake.

The Johnson City native earned his bachelor’s degree in economics from ETSU in 1971. 

CeeGee O’Neill McCord is Eastman Chemical Company’s director of Global Public and Community Affairs with responsibility for corporate and Eastman Foundation investing, the company’s corporate responsibility initiatives, economic and community development partnerships, corporate events, educational and workforce partnerships and customer visits.

McCord earned her bachelor’s degree in management from Georgia Institute of Technology and a master’s degree in public administration from Kennesaw State University.

Lewis P. Wexler, Sr. attended what is now University School on the campus of ETSU and then transferred to Culver Military Academy in Culver, Indiana, for his high school education.

He next attended Washington and Lee University in Lexington, Virginia, graduating in 1958. In addition, he received a certificate from Harvard Business School in 1965 for completing its Program for Management Development.

In 1962, Wexler returned to the Tri-Cities to manage a Free Service Tire retail store in Kingsport, and held positions of increasing responsibility, including president and chief executive officer in 1971, chairman of the board in 1981 and, his current position, chairman and chief executive officer, since in 2005.

Wexler served on the ETSU Roan Scholars Leadership Program Regional Selection Committee and on the board of the ETSU Foundation.

The Business Horizon Award is presented to graduates of the ETSU College of Business and Technology who are establishing noteworthy careers and displaying significant accomplishments in business as well as a commitment to the college and the university.

Timothy Belisle received his bachelor’s degree from ETSU in 1989. He went on to Wake Forest University, earning a law degree in 1992 and a Master of Business Administration degree in 2004.

Belisle now uses his skills as a lawyer for Mountain States Health Alliance. From 1993 to 2000, he was a partner at the law firm that was then Anderson, Fugate, Givens and Belisle.

Owen “Rhys” Davies received an undergraduate degree from ETSU in 2007. He was an outstanding member of the men’s golf team and is now a touring professional golfer.

While an ETSU student, Davies finished fourth in the nation after the 2005-2006 season and led the Bucs to the NCAA Championships. Davies was named to the All-America first team in 2005, 2006 and 2007 and played on two Walker Cup teams, first in 2005 and then in 2007. During his ETSU career, Davies won a record 10 college tournaments.

By graduation, he was second in the World Amateur Golf Ranking and was named one of three finalists for NCAA Division 1 Golfer of the Year. Also in 2006-2007, he was ranked No. 1 in the United States by “Golfweek” and “Golfstat.”

Davies turned pro in 2007 and earned his European Tour card in 2010. Also that year, he won the Tropheé Hassan II and then was named in the top 50 in the Official World Golf Ranking. In 2015, Davies won both the Turkish Airlines Challenge and the Challenge de Espana.

For further information, contact the ETSU College of Business and Technology at 423-439-5300.            

icon for left menu icon for right menu