skip to main content columnskip to left navigation

University News

Faculty/Staff Professional Activities
"On Top of Old Smoky" album cover

Congratulations to Dr. Ted Olson, Roy Andrade and Ben Bateson of the Department of Appalachian Studies and John Fleenor of Archives Administration, who were producer, associate producer, tracking engineer and mastering engineer for the album “On Top of Old Smoky,” which was recently named Best Tribute Album at the Independent Music Awards.  The album features contemporary roots musicians playing traditional music and is a fundraiser in honor of the 100th anniversary of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park.


Dr. Rick Osborn, dean of the School of Continuing Studies and Academic Outreach, recently received the 2016 Leadership Award from the Association for Continuing Higher Education (ACHE).  This is the highest award presented by the association and recognizes an individual who has made extraordinary contributions in leadership, theory and practice in continuing higher education on a national or international level.  The focus of this recognition is on the contributions of a general nature that extend beyond association activities.

A well-known leader in continuing education and lifelong learning, Osborn has served as president of both the ACHE and the Tennessee Alliance for Continuing Higher Education (TACHE).  Along the way, he was elected chair of ACHE Region VII, now ACHE South.  Currently, he is executive secretary/treasurer of TACHE, a position he has held for five years.  Osborn continues to assist with the ACHE annual conference and meeting, most recently co-chairing the Call for Proposals Committee.
icon for left menu icon for right menu