skip to main content columnskip to left navigationskip to horizontal navigation

University News

College of Clinical and Rehabilitative Health Sciences inducts six in Hall of Fame
CCRHS Hall of Fame

JOHNSON CITY (Oct. 4, 2017) – East Tennessee State University’s College of Clinical and Rehabilitative Health Sciences (CCRHS) recently handed out two Distinguished Alumni awards and inducted several individuals into the college’s Alumni Hall of Fame. A special ceremony was held last week to recognize the honorees.

The two individuals who received the 2017 Distinguished Alumni Award from the CCRHS are:

  • Linda Buck – Buck is a 1980 graduate of the dental laboratory technology program previously housed within the Department of Allied Health Sciences at ETSU. She went on to obtain a bachelor’s degree in Health Education from ETSU and a master’s degree in administration from the University of Tennessee. From 1982 through her retirement 20 years later, Buck served as an assistant professor in the dental laboratory technology program. She played a key teaching role in the early establishment of the Quillen College of Medicine’s communication course that developed into the university’s first efforts in interdisciplinary education and instruction. When she retired, Buck became the president and CEO of the Rural Health Services Consortium in Rogersville and, under her leadership, the RHSC has received millions of dollars in federal grants to improve and support health care in the region. Buck has also served on the Tennessee Primary Care Association board of directors for the past 13 years and was appointed by then-Gov. Phil Bredesen to the TennCare Task Force where she served from 2005-2008. In 2003, she received the Rural Health Association of Tennessee’s Healthcare Worker of the Year award. In 2005, she was listed as one of the top 10 business women in East Tennessee and Western North Carolina. And just last year, Buck received the Tennessee Primary Care Association’s Logan Beasley Leadership Award of Excellence.

  • Dr. Colleen Noe – Noe earned her bachelor’s degree in communicative disorders from ETSU in 1989. She continued her education at ETSU and received a master’s degree in audiology and then a Ph.D. in hearing science from The Ohio State University. Noe began her career in the VA system in 1995 and over the past 22 years, has served in numerous leadership roles. She served as the chief of audiology and speech-language pathology from 2004-2013 and was the acting director of the national audiology and speech-language pathology services program for the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs in 2011. Noe currently serves as the deputy chief of staff at the Mountain Home VA Medical Center, the only audiologist in the country to hold this position within the VA. She has been awarded more than $5 million in extramural funding to conduct research that advances the field of audiology practice and has established a national reputation in the field with over 20 publications and 45 national presentations to her name. She has been a member of the Association of VA Audiologists since 2004, serving as president of the organization from 2007-2008.

Those inducted to the Alumni Hall of Fame are:

  • Dr. Sue Barr – Barr received a Bachelor of Science degree in chemistry and mathematics and a master’s degree in biology from ETSU. She went on to earn a doctor of education in higher education administration from the University of Tennessee. Barr began her career at ETSU in 1980 as the program director of the medical laboratory technology program in the Department of Health Related Profession (Allied Health Sciences). She served as department chair from 1986-1989 and, in 1990, became the associate dean for academic affairs for what was then the College of Public and Allied Health. She played a key role in the development of a physical therapy program at ETSU. Barr, who retired in 2000, has received numerous honors and recognitions for her dedication and service to the medical laboratory profession and the university.

  • Brian Hobson – Hobson is a 1986 graduate of the respiratory therapy program at ETSU. He also received a bachelor’s degree in business administration from King College in 2012. He served for 10 years as the director of pulmonary, neurophysiology and wound care at Bristol Regional Medical Center, where he worked closely with students and graduates of ETSU’s cardiopulmonary science program. For the past seven years, Hobson has served in multiple administrative roles within the Wellmont Health System, including chief financial officer and, currently, chief operating officer and vice president at Bristol Regional Medical Center.

  • The late Dr. Raymond Massengill – Massengill began his distinguished career at Duke University Medical School where he served for 13 years as an associate professor and director of the medical speech pathology program in the Department of Surgery. He came to ETSU in 1977 as the assistant dean and director of medical education at the Quillen College of Medicine and as an adjunct faculty member in the Department of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology. He received many honors during his career and served on more than 30 state and national professional organization committees during that time. His professional accomplishments include 71 published articles in various medical journals and 132 presentations at medical conferences.

  • Maj. Daniel A. Williams – Williams earned his doctor of audiology degree from ETSU in 2012, previously earning a bachelor’s degree in communications sciences and disorders from Missouri State University. Prior to enrolling as a student at ETSU, Williams served in the National Guard for several years and did a tour in Afghanistan. Soon after completing the audiology program, he was commissioned as an officer in the Air Force. He was appointed Chief of the Implantable Hearing Device Program at Wilford Hall Ambulatory Surgery Center in the San Antonio Military Health System, one of the largest joint military treatment systems in the Department of Defense and, in 2016, was selected as the manager for the Air Force Hearing Conservation Program at the US Air Force School of Aerospace Medicine, providing oversight and program management to 75 installations and over 170,000 personnel.
icon for left menu icon for right menu