skip to main content columnskip to left navigationskip to horizontal navigation

University News

Gatton College of Pharmacy receives Faith in the Future Award

JOHNSON CITY (Nov. 7, 2017) – East Tennessee State University’s Bill Gatton College of Pharmacy has been awarded a Faith in the Future Award from the Johnson City Chamber of Commerce and CenturyLink.

The Faith in the Future program recognizes business owners and leaders who demonstrate a commitment to the future of their business, their employees, their community and the region. During a ceremony earlier this month, the Bill Gatton College of Pharmacy received the 2017 Faith in the Future Award in the education category.

“We are so proud to be a part of this community and this award means so much,” said Dr. Debbie Byrd, dean of the pharmacy school at ETSU. “Our college was founded in 2005 when this community said it needed a college of pharmacy to serve the education and health care needs of this region. The governor at the time challenged the citizens of Northeast Tennessee to raise $5 million in 90 days to demonstrate support for this endeavor. This community raised it in just 58 days.

“I don’t know of another college of pharmacy where ‘community ownership’ has provided the foundation for success.”

That success includes leading the country in efforts to address the prescription drug abuse epidemic and two national championship titles in the American College of Clinical Pharmacy’s Clinical Pharmacy Challenge. The pharmacy’s school’s annual economic impact on the state is conservatively estimated at $36 million.

“This commitment to the future of our community and region, as well as the opportunities that the college provides for its employees, students and graduates, is inspiring,” Byrd said. “Lives have been changed, improved and even saved because of care provided by our faculty, students and alumni.”

icon for left menu icon for right menu