skip to main content columnskip to left navigationskip to horizontal navigation

University News

Quillen College of Medicine holds Commencement ceremony
2018 Quillen graduation

JOHNSON CITY (May 4, 2018) – The East Tennessee State University Quillen College of Medicine’s commencement ceremony on Friday honored the medical school’s 37th graduating class.

Seventy students received their doctoral hoods from class-selected hooders Dr. Robert Schoborg, professor in the Department of Biomedical Sciences, and Dr. Jason Moore, professor and clerkship director in the Department of Family Medicine.

Prior to the hooding portion of the event, more than 20 awards were presented to students in the Class of 2018, including:

  • Abby Schultz, the recipient of the Ann Tranum Hawkins Award for Excellence in Women’s Health, which is presented to a student who has demonstrated exceptional involvement in activities promoting the health care of women. Schultz also received the 2018 Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award presented by The Arnold P. Gold Foundation to the student, as judged by her peers, who consistently demonstrates compassion and empathy in the delivery of care. Additionally, Schultz received the Dillard M. Sholes Society Awardfor her academic excellence during the junior year of OB/GYN clerkship.

  • Alexander Ankar, the recipient of the Bieber Scholarship, which is presented to a graduating student who established a keen interest in sciences prior to entering medical school or seeks a career in research. The student must have overcome personal adversity along the way to achieving completion of a medical degree;

  • Omar McCarty, who received the Henry Clay Reister Award for starting a medical career later in life after having a previous career;

  • John Kirby, who was awarded the Dean’s Distinguished Student Award by Dr. Robert Means, dean of the medical school. The award is presented to the senior student, judged by the clinical faculty and classmates, to demonstrate superb clinical skills and potential for becoming an excellent physician; and

  • Katelin McCall Pannell, who received several awards, including the Tennessee Academy of Family Physicians Scholarship Award and the H. Cowan Moss Family Medicine Award, which is given to a student who exhibits devotion, caring and compassion toward patients and patient families. McCall was among three members of the class also to receive the Ronald S. McCord, M.D. Rural Family Medicine Award, which recognizes those who exemplify commitment in rural medicine, are compassionate and demonstrate excellence in caring for and healing patients. Classmates Jessica HaynesCrowder and Kelsey Lloyd also received the award.

ETSU President Dr. Brian Noland awarded diplomas to all 70 students. The program concluded with the administration of the Hippocratic Oath to the new doctors and all physicians in the audience. It was led by Dr. Reid Blackwelder, professor and chair of the Department of Family Medicine.

icon for left menu icon for right menu