skip to main content columnskip to left navigationskip to horizontal navigation

University News

Roan Scholars Leadership Program adds new steering committee members
New Roan Scholar committee members

JOHNSON CITY (Aug. 28, 2018) — The Roan Scholars Leadership Program at East Tennessee State University has added two new community leaders to its steering committee: Anne Darden, an instructor in English at Northeast State Community College, and Mark Kinser, executive vice president of General Shale.

“Anne and Mark bring outstanding records of community leadership, years of experience as members of our Regional Selection Committee, and a passion for developing the next generation of leaders,” said Scott Jeffress, program director. “They, like the rest of the Steering Committee, embody the character, leadership excellence, and other traits that we seek in Roan Scholars. We are grateful for their willingness to serve and excited to work with them in this new role.”

Other Steering Committee members include Roan Founder Louie Gump, Chairperson Sharon Boles, Vice Chair Melissa Steagall-Jones, Roan alumni Dr. Heather Cook and Josh Culbert, Betty DeVinney, Alan Levine, Dr. Brian Noland, Dr. Joe Sherlin, Dr. Paul Stanton and Spike Tickle.

Art Powers, former publisher of the Johnson City Press, rotated off the committee this summer after several years of service to the program.

“Art contributed greatly to the Roan with his enthusiasm, ideas and commitment to students. His experience and expertise regarding communications were also extremely valuable. We will miss having him on the committee,” Jeffress said.

The Roan Scholars Leadership Program offers four years of unique, out-of-the-classroom experiences that challenge, inspire, encourage and empower Scholars to grow and develop as future leaders. The scholarship also includes a financial award for tuition and fees, room and board, and books and supplies.

For more information, visit or contact the Roan office at 423-439-7677 or .


Media Contact
Amanda Mowell


icon for left menu icon for right menu