skip to main content columnskip to left navigationskip to horizontal navigation

University News

Quillen Alumni Society Board Announces Awards Program

Tim Powers


JOHNSON CITY – Following the July 28 annual meeting of the Quillen Alumni Society Board of Directors, Dr. Tim Powers, Class of 1988, was elected to serve a two-year term as President of the Board. Powers succeeds, Dr. Kyle Colvett, Class of 1992, who will now serve as Immediate Past-President.  Other Officers and Directors include:

President-Elect, Dr. Wes Pectol, Class of 1994; and

Secretary/Treasurer, Dr. Landon Combs, Class of 1994.

The Directors-at-Large are:

Dr. Yolanda Chatman, ’89

Dr. Bob Elder, ’84

Dr. Matt Goldman, ’09

Dr. Shasta Helsel, ’04

Dr. Theresa Lura, ’84

Dr. Stephanie McClure, ’87

Dr. Tamara Musgrave, ’84

Dr. LaTrina Wimberly, ’99.

Additional board members include Resident Alumni Representative Dr. Angela Merrifield, who completed her residency in 1996; Faculty Representative Dr. Tom Kwasigroch; and student representative/OSR President, Brooke Baxter Bartow, who is a second-year medical student.

Long-time board member and former board president Dr. Tony Katras was selected to be the first Honorary Board Member. Dr. Bill Block, ’92, was introduced as the new Interim Dean of the college. He is the first Quillen alum to hold this role.

Following the election, the board voted unanimously to institute an awards program to recognize annually an Outstanding Alumni Award in Achievement and an Outstanding Alumni Award in Service. The awards will be presented on Reunion Weekend each year in July. Nominations are now being requested from alums, faculty, staff and students of the college and will be accepted until January 15, 2019. A committee of the board will meet in February to review nominations and make a recommendation to the full board at its meeting in March.

Powers said, “The board is excited to have this opportunity to recognize fellow alums who have excelled in their professional lives or who have provided exemplary service in their careers. We will be counting on our alums to nominate themselves or others for this important recognition.”

Nomination information outlining criteria and selection process and nomination forms are available by clicking here and by contacting Carol Sloan, director of development and alumni relations, at 423-439-6142,


icon for left menu icon for right menu