skip to main content columnskip to left navigationskip to horizontal navigation

Research Development Committee

Research and Sponsored Programs

rdc logo

The Research Development Committee (RDC), composed of two faculty members from each college, is responsible for distributing internal funds to support research. These funds are administered by the Office of Research and Sponsored Programs Administration (ORSPA) on behalf of the RDC. The RDC approves budgetary allocation of the funds available for the fiscal year, evaluates grant applications, and selects those to be supported.

RDC grants are intended to support and encourage research which is broadly interpreted to include the sciences and non-sciences, including the humanities and the fine and performing arts. Grants are awarded for the fiscal year July 1 through June 30. Any RDC allocated money must be spent within this time period.  See the official policy in the faculty handbook.

RDC members are available for consultation to assist applicants in the preparation of the application form, budget, budget justification and proposal. Additionally, the ORSPA staff can answer questions that applicants may have and provide examples of recently funded proposals.  

A Note About Submittting...
All RDC grant proposals must be submitted electronically followed by a paper-copy format with proper approval signatures approximately one week later. For details, see the guidelines for the relevant type of RDC grant.

All recipients of RDC grants are to acknowledge RDC funding in any publications or presentations with the following statement:

This work was funded all or in part by a grant from the East Tennessee State University
Research Development Committee Major/Small/Interdisciplinary Grants Program.

To contact the RDC, e-mail us at .  

The Chair of the RDC Committee is:

David Hurley, Ph.D.
Professor and Vice-Chair
Dept of Pharmaceutical Sciences
Bill Gatton College of Pharmacy
East Tennessee State University
office (423) 439-2069
cell (828) 550-0994
fax (423) 439-6350

3 Types of Grants:

1.  Small Research Grants

Amounts requested may be up to $1,500. 

Small Research Grants are intended to support and encourage research which is broadly interpreted as scholarship in both the sciences and non-sciences including the humanities, as well as the fine and performing arts.  Grants awarded must be spent in the fiscal year ending June 30.  See the Small Grants Homepage for details and guidelines.

2.  Major Research Grants

Applications may be for amounts up to $10,000, to sponsor projects that help develop faculty research and scholarship at all career stages.  
See the Major Grants Homepage for details, guidelines and upcoming deadlines.

3.  Interdisciplinary Grants

Interdisciplinary Grants are intended to encourage collaborative interdisciplinary research groups which have strong potential to attract external funding by involving the efforts of multiple colleges, centers, and/or departments at ETSU and collaborating sites.  
See the Interdisciplinary Grants Homepage for details, guidelines and upcoming deadlines.


See also:

ETSU Policy on the RDC (from the Faculty Handbook)

RDC Award Recipients, past and present  - updated June 16, 2016
         This document is an MS Excel file which can be sorted in any order; also
         use the tabs at the bottom to see the list separated by program type


book coverCover design: Katja van Stiphout.

"The New Aesthetic and Art:
Constellations of the Postdigital"
is a new book by ETSU
Professor Scott Koterbay,
and was made possible
by RDC funding.

Click the image to read and
read about this free book.

icon for left menu icon for right menu