Public Performance Scholarship

Public Performance Scholarships

East Tennessee State University has a strong commitment to excellence in the performing arts and to attracting students who are talented performers and who would represent the University well in its various performing venues. As part of that commitment and in recognition of its geographical proximity to the borders of several states, the University offers a number of Public Performance Scholarships for Out-of-State Students. Students who are participating in another program which covers out-of-state tuition (including but not limited to, Academic Common Market, Border Waiver, or Honors-in-Discipline) are not eligible.

  • Both undergraduate and graduate students are eligible.
  • Only new ETSU students are eligible
  • Students selected for these scholarships will receive financial support in an amount equivalent to the out-of-state fee.
  • Recipients of Public Performance Scholarships will be required to participate in public performance venues as determined by their particular performance area.



Departments and Contacts

Art
(for Art majors only)
Catherine Murray
423-439-4247
Box 70708
murrayc@etsu.edu
Digital Media
(for Digital Media majors only)
Dr. Keith Johnson
423-439-7813
Box 70552
johnsonk@etsu.edu
Storytelling
(for graduate students only)
Dr. Joseph Sobol
423-439-7863
Box 70684
sobol@etsu.edu
Bluegrass and Country Music
Lee Bidgood
423-439-8584
Box 70435
bidgood@etsu.edu
Gospel Choir
Laura Terry
423-439-4210
Box 70725
terryl@etsu.edu
Theatre
(for Speech majors with Theatre concentration only)
Pat Cronin
423-439-6513
Box 70667
croninp@etsu.edu
Broadcasting
(for Mass Communications majors with Broadcasting concentration only)
Tammy Hayes
423-439-7568
Box 70667
hayest@etsu.edu
Music
Dr. Benjamin Caton
423-439-4405 or 4270
Box 70661
caton@etsu.edu