The Debate Team Makes a Name for Itself

The debate team, in its second year, has already become a presence in local tournaments. Under the direction of Marci Nimick and Laughton Messmer, the debate team recently distinguished itself at the 2006 Smoky Mountain Parliamentary Debate Tournament at Walters State Community College. ETSU winners took home first and fourth place honors. Mark Cummins and Brittney Bryant placed first and were the only team to go undefeated all day. Daniel Potts and Dustin Mason placed fourth. The team is always looking for new voices. Anyone interested in finding out more about debate and public speaking events should contact the coaches at or 423-439-6523.