Diversity in Acting Scholarship


The purpose of the ETSU Division of Theatre & Dance Diversity in Acting Scholarship is to provide supporting funds for deserving out of state students who are active Theatre majors.  


The scholarship is awarded to out of state students majoring in Theatre. It will cover tuition for Fall and Spring semesters for up to four years, assuming the student continues to meet the criteria.


A student who applies as an entering freshman must graduate with a 2.5 high school GPA. A student transferring from another college or ETSU discipline must have a 2.5 overall GPA and a 3.0 GPA in Theatre to be considered for the scholarship. In order to continue as a recipient, the student must:

  • Maintain a 3.0 GPA in Theatre and 2.5 overall GPA.
  • Audition for a role in a Main Stage, faculty-directed production each semester. Those not cast must work as a technical member of the production (stage manager, designer, or running crew: lights operator, sound operator, wardrobe assistant, stage hand, etc.). Involvement of ten hours per week is required.
  • Enroll in and complete a theatre course each semester.
  • Enroll as a full-time student at ETSU, majoring in Theatre.

Students who fail to meet these criteria will lose their scholarship for all future terms.


Applicants must perform two contrasting monologues recorded on video-tape or DVD. The total time for both audition pieces combined must not exceed four minutes. A resume and at least two letters of recommendation are required.  

A Scholarship Selection Committee will be appointed to select the scholarship recipient(s) based on the above listed criteria and on competitive auditions/interviews. The committee will notify applicants of the competition results by April 15. They will then forward the names of the scholarship recipient(s) along with additional pertinent information to the ETSU Financial Aid Office.  

Audition tape, completed application forms, resume and letters of recommendation should be mailed to:  

Diversity in Acting Scholarship
Attn: Professor Herb Parker
Division of Theatre & Dance
East Tennessee State University
PO Box 70626
Johnson City, TN 37614-1709

Download Application