Infectious Diseases Division Statement

Division Statement | Faculty | Research/Scholarly Activities | Fellowship | Quillen ETSU Physicians


The Infectious Diseases Division at the James H. Quillen College of Medicine at East Tennessee State University is committed to excellence in teaching, clinical care, and scholarship. The division consists of 8 (6 MD, 3 MD/PhD) faculty members, 6 fellows, multiple postdoctoral and/or graduate students, and support staff. Division faculty members are present at each of our two main teaching hospitals, Johnson City Medical Center and the James H. Quillen VA Medical Center, and are closely involved in the ETSU Infectious Diseases Fellowship Training Program.  

Jon Moorman, M.D., Division Chief

Faculty oversee clinical care and teaching at the ETSU Center of Excellence for HIV/AIDS Care, a Ryan White-funded center providing services to all of East Tennessee.  Division members have a 

broad range of research interests, including molecular pathogenesis, epidemiology, and clinical studies, with presentations in all of these areas at national meetings and extramural funding for translational initiatives.  Particular areas of interest include the immunopathogenesis of hepatitis C infection, molecular epidemiology, and the treatment of resistant organisms. 

Pictured: Jon Moorman, MD, PhD, FACP | Division Chief