A-Z Index | Calendars | Contact Us | GoldLink | Need Help?

Search People | Search ETSU
Future Students Current Students Honors Faculty & Staff Alumni & Friends Apply to ETSU

The George J. Mitchell Scholarship

ETSU Faculty Representative:

Jane MacMorran

Department of Appalachian Studies

Office:  302 Brooks Gym

Phone: (423) 439-7072

Email:  macmorra@etsu.edu

Website: http://www.us-irelandalliance.org

Award: Tuition for one year of graduate study at any institution of higher learning in Ireland or Northern Ireland, housing, stipend for living expenses and international travel, and transportation costs to and from Ireland/Northern Ireland at the start and conclusion of the program.  

Eligibility: Applicants must be US citizens between the ages of 18 and 30, and hold a bachelor's degree before study under the scholarship is to begin. Criteria for evaluation include evidence of academic excellence, distinction in leadership, and a commitment to public service. 

When to Apply: Online applications are usually due in early October each year.

Sponsored by the US-Ireland Alliance, the Mitchell Scholarship is a national competitive scholarship named in honor of George J. Mitchell, former US Senator from Maine and Chairman of the peace negotiations that led to the 1998 Good Friday Agreement, which ended decades of conflict in Northern Ireland. Following Senator Mitchell's example, it is expected that applicants for the scholarship will not only possess an excellent scholarly record but also a significant history of leadership and community service, and a desire to effect positive change to the human condition. Twelve scholars are chosen annually for one year of graduate study at one of the nine Universities of Ireland and Northern Ireland: Trinity College Dublin, University College Cork, University College Dublin, NUI Galway, University College Maynooth, University of Limerick, Dublin City University; Queen's University Belfast, and The University of Ulster. Individuals from all academic fields are urged to apply.

Return to ETSU Honors College Scholarships and Fellowships

USPS Mailing Address:
The Honors College at
East Tennessee State University
PO Box 70589
Johnson City, TN 37614-1708

Phone: 423.439.6076
Fax: 423.439.6080
email:  Honors College

Street Addresses of The Honors College offices:
  Administration: Yoakley Hall, Room 129
161 S. Dossett Drive
University & Midway Scholars: Ada Earnest House
310 S. Dossett Drive
Honors-in-Discipline Programs: Yoakley Hall, Room 206
161 S. Dossett Drive
Fine & Performing Art Scholars: Yoakley Hall, Room 206
161 S. Dossett Drive
Undergraduate Research: Yoakley Hall, Room 129
161 S. Dossett Drive
International Programs & Services: Yoakley Hall, Room 122
161 S. Dossett Drive