East Tennessee State University

Retirees Association (ETSURA)

Horizontal Line

ETSU Retirees Association

Board Meeting Minutes

July 30, 2002

Board Members present: Jay L. Allen, Jean Copeland, Joan Dressel, Bill Fisher, Barbara Humphrys, Harold K. Johnson, Bill Miller, Harry Powell, Dorman Stout, Betty Tester, and Charles Votaw. Others present: Bill Pafford, Willene Paxton, and Diana McClay.

Dr. Dorman Stout, President, called the meeting to order at 3:30 p.m.

The minutes of the May 28, 2002 meeting were approved as distributed by a motion of Dr. Bill Fisher and a second by Ms. Betty Tester. 

Dr. Stout recognized Dr. Bill Pafford for a special presentation relative to prescription drugs.  Dr. Pafford had drafted a letter to be directed to Senator Bill Frist and Senator Fred Thompson upon approval of the ETSURA Board.  He pointed out that prescription medication, much of it manufactured in the United States, is priced far less in Canada and Mexico than in the United States.  The average price is about one-half of the cost we pay in our own country.

The letter also pointed out that retail prices of prescription drugs have doubled in the past ten years and that the local pharmacy is not the one that makes a huge profit, it is the pharmaceutical companies.  Dr. Pafford said if the ETSURA Board endorsed the letter that it was his hope that every school district in the state would do likewise.

Following a lengthy discussion, a motion was made by Dr. Jay Allen that we become involved and the letter be approved as edited by Dr. Pafford.  Dr. Bill Fisher seconded the motion which was approved unanimously.  Copies of the letter are to be sent to:  Washington County Retired Teachers Association; University of Tennessee-Knoxville Retired Teachers Association, Tennessee State Employees Association, East Tennessee Regional Retirees Association, and the Washington County Chapter of AARP. 

Dr. Stout recognized Dr. Willene Paxton, Chair, “Tales of the University.”  Dr. Paxton pointed out that her committee had looked at different possibilities for printing the publication and recognizing budget constraints and not knowing whether the book would sell, her committee was recommending Kristn Fry’s proposal that a page in each issue of the “Accent” publication be dedicated to the “Tales of the University.” 

A motion was made by Dr. Bill Fisher to endorse the statement prepared by the committee and that the “Tales” be printed in the “Accent.”  The motion was seconded by Better Tester, and it was unanimously accepted. 

President Stout called for committee reports.

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE: Dr. Dorman Stout, Chair 

No report.

MEMBERSHIP COMMITTEE: Dr. Barbara Humphrys, Chair

Dr. Humphrys distributed a list showing there were 294 paid members.  She also distributed a listing of all the retirees that are not members and requested Board members make some individual contacts when possible. 

Dr. Charles Votaw reported he had written a letter to all medical school retirees and encouraged them to join the Association.  He was commended for his effort.    

FINANCE COMMITTEE: Ms. Betty Tester, Chair

Ms. Tester distributed the Financial Report which showed an Operating Fund of $2,609.93; Life Membership Account of $10,265; Scholarship Endowment Investment Account of $53,834.61; and Endowment Interest Income Account of $1,837.09.

PROGRAM COMMITTEE: Ms. Betty Moore, Chair

No report.


No report.

LIAISON COMMITTEE: Dr. Bill Fisher, Chair

Dr. Fisher shared a handout which showed the proposed Tennessee ORP changes July 1, 2002 (copy is on file in Diana McClay’s office).

Dr. Fisher also distributed copies of the Sixth Annual Tri-Cities Regional Medicare Workshop program schedule to be presented at Central Baptist Church of Johnson City on Monday, September 16, 2002.  Dorman Stout and Harold Johnson volunteered to assist Dr. Fisher in picking up the refreshments.

            SERVICE COMMITTEE:  Dr. A. Keith Turkett

Dr. Turkett was unable to be present; however, he informed Dr. Stout that he had been in touch with Dr. Bach and Dr. Andrews concerning work assignments.



The meeting adjourned at 4:45 p.m.  The next board meeting will be August 27, 2002.

Respectfully submitted,


Harold K. Johnson, Secretary


Back to ETSURA

Horizontal Line

ETSU Logo with link to ETSU Home Page

HR Logo with link to home page

Back to ETSU Home 

Back to ETSU Human Resources Page

Mailing Address:  Office of Human Resources
ETSU Box 70564
Johnson City, TN  37614-1707
Telephone:  423-439-4457
Fax:  423-439-8354
TDD:  423-439-4710

Office Hours:  8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. E.S.T. Monday - Friday
Office Location:  Rooms 307 and 311, Dossett Hall


Updated on 11/15/05