East Tennessee State University

Retirees Association (ETSURA)

Horizontal Line


ETSU Retirees Association
Board Meeting Minutes
Tuesday, October 31, 2006


Present:  Rosemary Barson, Judith Bragg, Pauline Cross, Bill Fisher, Janet Fisher, Ethel Garrity, Styron Harris, Ken Herd, Ted Hughes, Betty Hylton, Dan Johnson, Bill Miller, Diana McClay, Ches Sharp, and Betty Tester.

Visitor:  Alan Peiris.

The meeting was called to order at 3:30 p.m. by Ken Herd.  Ken welcomed the new board members: Rosemary Barson, Judith Bragg, Ethel Garrity and Dan Johnson, all of whom will take office in January of 2007.

Bill Fisher introduced Dr. Alan Peiris of the faculty senate.  Alan had just become chair of the outreach committee and solicited board members’ opinions about what the faculty senate could do for retired faculty. Alan suggested lectures on topics of interest to retirees.  Betty Tester thought more information about retirement should go to faculty around the age of 63 or 64.  Bill Miller thought we needed more employees in Human Resources to help retirees.  Diana indicated an interest to work with both ETSURA board and the outreach committee of the faculty senate on the personnel question.   There was a general feeling that we needed to provide more information on optional retirement plans and a great need to develop a procedure that would assure that we would respond appropriately to our retirees and their families when in need.  Further comments may be sent to Alan at

The minutes of the September board meeting were approved with the following addendum: An e-mail from Styron which I received after I had submitted the minutes to Diana brings out the following: (1) Starting about three years ago Edith could not finish all the material for the scrapbook.  There is, thus, loose material, not in scrapbook form.  Ned Irwin in Sherrod Library Archives doesn’t know when his staff could get to this material and would welcome volunteers who would “scrapbook” the material.  (2) Styron thinks that over a period of time we should devise some ways to have detailed archival material.  He suggests that the board have fewer meetings and more work projects on archival material.  (3) Styron did not recommend the immediate creation of a committee.  He thinks we might just take matters under advisement for a while.

Ken read a letter of appreciation from the vice president for administration, in which Wilsie says, “The University appreciates all ETSURA and its members do far our students and to help us continue to be the best.”

Committee Reports:

Executive Committee:  Ken Herd, Chair. 

Ken announced that the election of officers for 2007 will take place at our next board meeting.           

The board approved a letter by Ken Herd and Bill Miller to all ETSU retirees soliciting contributions to the Mack Davis ETSU Retirees Association Scholarship.  Diana agreed to see to the mailing of the letters to each retiree. 

With the agreement of Don Wilkinson the board voted to ask Brunhilde Tober-Meyer to serve out the two years left in his term.  Brunhilde received the fifth highest number of votes in the recent election for board members.


Membership Committee: Pauline Cross, Chair. 

Pauline announced that our membership is at 339.  59 members were added between February and September.  26 members in 2005 did not renew their membership in 2006. 

Pauline suggested that the December newsletter remind people that their membership dues need to be paid by January 1, 2007.


Finance Committee: Bill Miller, Chair, gave the following figures as of October, 2006. 

            Operating Fund Account                                         $3,671.50
            Life Membership Account                                       $13,090.00
            Scholarship Endowment Investment Account           $94,523.53
            Endowment Interest Income Account                      $2,197.38
            TOTAL ASSETS                                                   $113,482.41


Communications Committee: Styron Harris, Chair. 

Styron announced that he was increasing his committee to twenty members in order to make calling easier for the members of the committee.


Liaison Committee: Bill Fisher, Chair. 

Bill announced that he was not able to find anyone to attend the 2006 conference of the Association of Retirement Organizations in Higher Education (AROHE). U.T. will send a representative to the 2008 conference. 

Bill announced that the Second Annual Tennessee Higher Education Retirees Association Meeting will take place November 12 and 13, 2006 at Fall Creek Falls State Park.   Bill, Jerry Gehre and Betty Tester attended the first meeting last year and ETSURA will be represented at the meeting this year by some combination of the three.  Individual schedules are not clear at this point. 


 The meeting was adjourned at 4:55 p.m. 

Respectfully submitted, 

R. Chesla Sharp



Back to ETSURA


Horizontal Line

ETSU Logo with link to ETSU Home Page

HR Logo with link to home page

Back to ETSU Home 

Back to ETSU Human Resources Page

Mailing Address:  Office of Human Resources
ETSU Box 70564
Johnson City, TN  37614-1707
Telephone:  423-439-4457
Fax:  423-439-8354
TDD:  423-439-4710

Office Hours:  8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. E.S.T. Monday - Friday
Office Location:  Rooms 307 and 311, Dossett Hall


Updated on 11/20/06