Judicial Branch

According to Article IV of the SGA Constitution, the purpose of the Judicial Branch of the Student Government Association shall be to provide fair and just treatment relating to cases involving either violation of university regulations or infringements upon students’ rights over which it has authority from the university; to recommend appropriate measures for those found guilty.

In all cases, due process shall be observed.

The Judiciary of East Tennessee State University, in conjunction with the Student Government Association, shall consist of the following components:

  • A. The University Judicial committee shall be the highest court authorized by the University President.
  • B. The Student Court shall be the highest court within the student judicial system, and has appellate jurisdiction to the lower courts.
  • C. The Residence Hall Association Judicial Board and the Greek Judicial Board shall be the lower courts in the student judicial system.

The Student Court is comprised of the SGA Chief Justice, 7 associate justices and alternates, all appointed by the SGA President. It shall have original jurisdiction in all cases involving the Student Government Constitution or Code of Laws and violations thereof, campus organizations, student elections and any other cases deemed appropriate by the Assistant Dean of Students.

2015-2016 Student Court
Chief Justice
Rikesh Patel
Associate Justices
Blaine Boles
Emma Cuculovska
Jessica Martin
Martin Tompkins
Faith Vaughn
Alternate Justices

If you are interested in being appointed to any Judicial vacancies that may arise, you should complete the online application form available under Forms in the left hand navigation on this page.

direct edit