Legislative Branch

Student Senate

The Student Senate is the law-making body of the Student Government and is composed of 30 members, elected in general elections by the student body of ETSU, or appointed in compliance with the SGA Constitution and Code of Laws.

 Our Senators represent a wide array of students on the campus, and are the main lines of communication between the student body and the Executive Branch.
Senators hear concerns from their fellow students, write resolutions, bills, and acts, and serve on various University committees that pertain to all areas of ETSU operations.

Senators are elected in April. Any seats that are left vacant after the general election are filled by Presidential appointment.

The Senate meets once per week, usually Tuesdays at 4:00 in the Culp Center Forum Room.

Legislation & Minutes

Legislative Template
Every Senator is required to author or coauthor at least one piece of legislation per semester. Guidelines for writing legislation can be found in the SGA Constitution beginning on page 44. A template in Microsoft Word format can be found here


Copies of Senate Legislation and Minutes will be posted on the side bar of this page soon.

Meet Your Senators
College of Arts and Sciences  
Taylor W. Malone malonewt@goldmail.etsu.edu 423-483-8736
Danielle Holder  holders@goldmail.etsu.edu  423-715-3062
Benji Huffines   huffhinesb@goldmail.etsu.edu  423-237-5621
Kevin Carlson   carlsonk@goldmail.etsu.edu  423-329-0447
Jackson Cassada   cassada@goldmail.etsu.edu  423-284-4996
Nils Bresinsky     
Eric Whetsel   whetsel@goldmail.etsu.edu  423-202-5334
Kallam McKay   mckayk@goldmail.etsu.edu  423-483-7386
Jenni Bartell   bartellj@goldmail.etsu.edu  703-333-9175
Randi Owenby   owenbyr@goldmail.etsu.edu  423-943-5707
Mercedes Johnson   johnsonmd@goldmail.etsu.edu  423-704-8565
College of Business and Technology 
Bethany Bates   batesbm@goldmail.etsu.edu  423-946-3067
 Jackie Neal  nealje@goldmail.etsu.edu  423-488-3924
 Dustin Freshour  freshour@goldmail.etsu.edu  865-277-9034
 Jeff Cogburn  cogburn@goldmail.etsu.edu  423-552-5001
 Tom Klug    
College of Clinical and Rehab Health Sciences 
 Cythia Faircloth  fairclothc@goldmail.etsu.edu  615-499-1622
 Elizabeth Triplet    
College of Education
 Lacodya Collins  williamsls@goldmail.etsu.edu  423-946-5818
 Jayke Hamill  zjah88e@goldmail.etsu.edu  423-797-0037
 Alexis Marie Petrak  petrak@goldmail.etsu.edu  615-335-5686
College of Nursing
Doretha Benn  benndm@goldmail.etsu.edu  865-964-8693
Molly Crabtree  crabtreem@goldmail.etsu.edu  423-444-1006
Amy Greear    
College of Public Health
Josh Kosky  koskyj@goldmail.etsu.edu  
Taylor Dunn    
Conner Landers   landersc@goldmail.etsu.edu  423-620-5889
Jasmine Parks  parksjk@goldmail.etsu.edu  423-963-8197


Junior Senate

The Student Government Association shall hereby have a Junior Senator Program, with its processes and eligibility defined here:
A. Students in their first semester at East Tennessee University or students that have surpassed their first semester and have applied for an un-vacant Senate seat will be eligible for the Junior Senator Program.

B. The Secretary of Interior shall oversee the Junior Senator Program.

C. Junior Senators will not be required to attend Senate meetings, but attendance will be highly beneficial. At Senate meetings, Junior Senators will learn parliamentary procedure, the BUC FUND process, and other essential elements of the governing process via student government.

D. Junior Senators will not be allowed to vote in Senate meetings or in standing Senate committee meetings.

E. Junior Senators shall reserve the right among themselves to introduce their own legislation and vote upon such legislation in the same manner that is outlined in this Constitution. All legislation passed by the Junior Senate, including bills, acts, and resolutions, shall be non-binding, shall have no power of law, but shall be sent to the Student Government Association Senate for consideration and possible passage into law.

F. Prior Junior Senator status will not be required to gain a Senate seat.

G. Junior Senator guidelines shall be established for approval by the Senate.

Interested in Participating?

If you are interested in possibly being appointed to any vacant seats in the Senate, please fill out this application and return it to the SGA Office.

If you are interested in joining the Junior Senate, fill out and return this application form to the SGA Office, attention to the Secretary of the Interior.