Search Options
ETSU Faculty/Staff
ETSU Students
ETSU People Search
2008 Award Recipients

  2008 Award Recipients

printer-friendly version:  MS Word doc

Note to the award winners:  in order to
receive your money award, you MUST fill
out and return the form that was included
with your winner's certificate. 

Poster Presentation  

Division I – Undergraduates

  Biomedical Sciences

First Place:  Bassam Lamale, ETSU. Faculty Sponsor – Sharon Campbell, Dept. of Internal Medicine.   Synthesis and Evaluation of Gamma Tocopherol Lysinate as an Anti-Cancer Agent in Human Prostate and Colon Cancer Cell Lines.

Second Place:  Jessica Pugh, ETSU. Faculty Sponsor – David Johnson, Dept. of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology.  Expression of Human Neutrophil Elastase Using Sumo Fusion Technology.

Natural Sciences & Mathematics

First Place:  Elizabeth Harris, E TSU. Faculty Sponsor – Michelle Hoard, Dept. of Mathematics.  The Sierpiński Square Graph and Some of its Properties.

Second Place:  Brent Linville, ETSU. Faculty Sponsor – Charles Thomas Jones, Dept. of Biological Sciences.  Environmental Factors Contributing to Colony Success in a Social Spider System.

Third Place:  Maleka Khambaty, ETSU. Faculty Sponsor – Dr. Tom Ecay and Dr. James Stewart, Depts. of Biology & Physiology.  Developmental Expression of Carbonic Anyhdrase II in the Extraembryonic Membranes of the Corn Snake, Pantherophis Guttatus.

Fourth Place:  Tazley Hotz, ETSU. Faculty Sponsor – Dr. Dhirendra Kumar, Dept. of Biological Sciences.  SA-Methyl Transferase Involvement in Disease Resistance Signaling.

Social & Behavioral Sciences

First Place:  Daniel Noel, ETSU. Faculty Sponsor – Russell Brown, Dept. of Psychology.  Nicotine Sensitization in Adolescent Beta Arrestin-2 knockout Mice: Correlations with BDNF.

Second Place:  Benjamin Martin, ETSU. Faculty Sponsor – Chris Dula, Dept. of Psychology.  A Look at the Development of the Martin Stigma Against Tattoos Measure.

Third Place:  Julia Lehmann, ETSU. Faculty Sponsor – Russ Brown, Dept. of Psychology.  Nicotine-Conditioned Hyperactivity in Adolescent Male and Female D2-Primed Rats.

Division II – Graduate Students, 1-2 Years

Biomedical Sciences

First Place:  Courtney Netherland, ETSU. Faculty Sponsor – Douglas Thewke, Dept. of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology.  Cannabinoid Receptor (CB2) Deficiency is Associated with Reduced Lesional Apoptosis in Low-Density Lipoprotein Receptor-Null Mice.

Second Place:  Stacie Woolard, ETSU. Faculty Sponsor – Uday Kumaraguru, Dept. of Microbiology.  Toll-Like Receeptor Modulation of Dendritic Cell: Natural Killer Cell Interaction.

Natural Sciences & Mathematics

First Place:  Lok Raj Pokhrel, ETSU. Faculty Sponsor – Istvan Karsai,  Dept. of Biological Sciences.  Mapping the Skin Pattern of Spotted Salamanders, Ambystoma Maculatum.

Second Place:  David Hammond, ETSU. Faculty Sponsor – Ranjan Chakraborty, Dept. of Health Sciences.  The Detection of Possible Outer Membrane Receptor, 'FepA', Protein From Rhizobium Leguminosarum Strain IARI 312.

Social & Behavioral Sciences (combined)

First Place:  Marie Fillers , ETSU. Faculty Sponsor – Nancy Scherer, Dept. of Communicative Disorders.  Normative Speech Accuracy Measures of Children 24-30 Months of Age.

Second Place:  Zackary Cope, ETSU. Faculty Sponsor – Russ Brown, Dept. of Psychology.  Amphetamine Sensitization in a Rodent Model of Psychosis.

Division III – Graduate Students, 2+ Years

First Place:  Sam Boyd, ETSU. Faculty Sponsor – Darrell Moore, Dept. of Biological Sciences.  Investigating Nectar Rhythms in Squash (Cucurbit Pepo):  Effects on Honeybee (Apis Melliffera) Foraging Behavior.

Second Place: Christina Bridges, ETSU. Faculty Sponsor – Antonio Rusinol, Dept. of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology.  Comparison of the Activity and Expression of the ZMPSTE24 Endoprotease in Cellular Quiescence.

Division IV – Medical Students

First Place:  Heather Wright, ETSU. Faculty Sponsor – Beth Bailey, Dept. of Family Medicine.  Access to Obstetric Care in Rural Northeast Tennessee:  Association with Birth Outcomes.

Second Place:  Thomas Soike, ETSU. Faculty Sponsor – David Chi, Dept. of Internal Medicine.  Effects of Cigarette Smoke Extract on Cytokine Production from IL-1Beta-Activated Mast Cells.

Division V – Medical Residents and Post-Doctoral Fellows

First Place:  Daniel Owens, ETSU. Faculty Sponsor – Cecilia McIntosh, Dept. of Biological Sciences.  Identification, Recombinant Expression, And Biochemical Characterization Of A Flavonol 3-O-Glucosyltransferase From Citrus Paradisi.

Second Place:  Subhadra Nandakumar , ETSU. Faculty Sponsor – Uday Kumaraguru, Dept. of Microbiology.  Post-Priming Manipulation of Discordant Antiviral T Cells.

Third Place:  Zia Ur Rahman, ETSU. Faculty Sponsor – Fereshteh Gerayli, Dept. of Family Medicine.  What is the Best Treatment of Chronic Fecal Retention?.

Oral Presentations

Graduate Students

First Place:  Jeremy Stout, E TSU. Faculty Sponsor – Blaine Schubert, Dept. of Biological Sciences.  Skeletal Morphology and Systematics of Late Pliocene Alligator SP.

Second Place:  Preston Visser, ETSU. Faculty Sponsor – Jameson Hirsch, Dept. of Psychology.  Ethnic Differences in Risk and Protective Factors for Depression.

Third Place:  Stacie Woolard, ETSU. Faculty Sponsor – Uday Kumaraguru, Dept. of Microbiology.  Up-Regulating Death Receptor 5 Via Tunicamycin Administration Increases Anti-HSV Immune Response.

Medical Residents and Post-Doctoral Fellows

First Place:  Subhadra Nandakumar, ETSU. Faculty Sponsor – Uday Kumaraguru, Dept. of Microbiology.  Molecular Link Between Toll Like Receptors, Obesity and Risk of Cancer.

Second Place:  Sumit Kalra, ETSU. Faculty Sponsor – Terry Forrest, Dept. of Internal Medicine.  A Case of Ventricular Tachycardia Terminated by Carotid Massage.

Third Place:  Georges El Khoury, An Exceptional Variant of Single Coronary Artery Anomaly, Presenting with Acute St Segment Elevation Myocardial Infarction.

direct edit