skip to main content columnskip to left navigation

Appalachian Teaching Project

Center of Appalachian Studies & Services

University of North Georgia



In Year 2 of this project to increase the interpretive capacity of The Foxfire Museum and Heritage Center, two more community partners will be added to digitize and package last year's arts-based research about agricultural traditions and deliver it to Appalachian classrooms via the web: The Northeast Georgia History Center and The College of Education at the University of North Georgia. The new collaboration among organizations that have never worked together before will leverage the Appalachian Regional Commission’s investment in northeast Georgia’s cultural, educational, and heritage assets.

Last year’s ATP students used narrative inquiry as a research methodology, they wrote an original script that highlighted major themes, and finally, they created a “crankie,” a long scroll illustrated with delicate paper cuts that is wound in a wooden box and hand-cranked while the story is told.  This year, pre-education students from the University of North Georgia’s College of Education will work with their community partners to digitize and package the crankie performance into social studies content for Appalachian classrooms.  The Northeast Georgia History Center will use its production facilities to produce a “webisode,” a 10 to 15-minute documentary that teachers can download on demand.  The ATP students will package the social studies unit by adding pre- and post-activities aligned with Georgia Performance Standards.




Contact Information:

Rosann Kent
Director, Appalachian Studies Center
University of North Georgia
201 Vickery House
82 College Circle
Dahlonega, GA 30570
Telephone:  (706) 864-1540
Cell Phone:  (706) 499-8208



Previous Conference Participation:
2016    2015      2014     2013     2012     2010     2009


ARC Logo


Alfred State

Appalachian State University

Auburn University

East Tennessee State University

Fairmont State University

Frostburg State University

Indiana University of Pennsylvania

Radford University

Southeast Kentucky Community and Technical College

University of North Georgia

University of Pittsburgh at Bradford

University of Tennessee

Zane State College


Emory and Henry College

Mississippi State University

Mississippi University for Women

Morehead State University

Northeast Alabama Community College

Ohio University

Shawnee State University

Virginia Tech

icon for left menu icon for right menu