skip to main content columnskip to left navigationskip to horizontal navigation

Search Options
ETSU Faculty/Staff
ETSU Students

ETSU People Search

Department of Internal Medicine

Quillen College of Medicine



 A Message from Our Chairman

Dr. Stuart

Charles A. Stuart, MD  |
Professor, Internal Medicine and Endocrinology, Interim Chair

The Department of Internal Medicine is the largest clinical department in Quillen College of Medicine at The East Tennessee State University. Sixty faculty employed by ETSU, the Quillen VAMC, or both join with over 100 community volunteer faculty physicians to teach our students and residents. Our faculty includes clinician-teachers, clinician-scientists, and basic scientists. As a community-based school situated in the Tri-Cities area of Northeastern Tennessee, our faculty members practice, teach and conduct research at the Mountain Home VAMC, Johnson City Medical Center, Bristol Regional Medical Center, and Holston Valley Medical Center (in Kingsport). Our faculty practice includes four outpatient sites within Johnson City and Kingsport. Our community-based physician faculty in the region provide teaching to our physicians-in-training, and provide a broad referral base for our clinical practice.

The Quillen College of Medicine was begun in 1978 as a Teague-Cranston school (1972 Public Law 92-541), which provides a strong official association with our VA medical center. Quillen is part of The Academic Health Sciences Center at East Tennessee State University, that also contains the College of Nursing, College of Clinical and Rehabilitative Health Sciences (includes Clinical Nutrition, Audiology, Speech Pathology, Physical Therapy, Dental Hygiene, Respiratory Therapy, Radiography), Gatton College of Pharmacy, and The College of Public Health.

The first class of 24 graduated in 1982. There currently are 72 medical students per class at Quillen. Internal Medicine faculty participates in preclinical medical student education in a number of courses. Each junior student spends eight weeks in the internal medicine core clerkship during the third year. Fourth year students are trained in medicine sub-internships and internal medicine-based elective rotations. Many of our graduates who choose careers in internal medicine stay in our residency program, while others move on to different programs in Tennessee and other states.

The Internal Medicine Residency Program accepts categorical PGY-1 candidates each year through the match program. There are five fellowship programs (Cardiology, Pulmonary-Critical Care, Oncology, Infectious Disease, and Gastroenterology). Student, resident and fellow training includes inpatient experiences at our four partner hospitals (listed above) and ambulatory sites at our faculty practice venues and the VAMC.

Research strengths within the Department include NIH-funded programs in diabetes prevention, virology, and inflammation-immunology. New initiatives, led by Dr. Jonathan Moorman as Vice Chair of Research and Scholarship, will focus on support for new investigators and internal scholarship projects for departmental members.

Our medical school and university are energized with an infusion of new leadership, which includes our Dean of Medicine, Dr. Robert T. Means, Jr., who joined us in March 2014, and Dr. Brian Noland, serving as University President since 2012. Substantial expansion of our faculty numbers, investment in faculty development, and opportunities for collaboration abound for the Department of Internal Medicine.

Please visit other pages on this site to learn more about our clinical, educational and research endeavors. And Welcome!

Charles A. Stuart, MD
Professor, Internal Medicine and Endocrinology, Interim Chair


icon for left menu icon for right menu