skip to main content columnskip to left navigationskip to horizontal navigation

University Advancement

East Tennessee State University

The Wayne G. Basler

About The Basler Chair

In 1994 the Wayne G. Basler Chair of Excellence for the Integration of the Arts, Rhetoric, and Science was named in honor of an individual who has continuously supported the university over many years. This chair will help to bridge the gap that exists in academia between the sciences and the arts and humanities disciplines.

Chairholders will serve for one semester, or the equivalent, allowing a number of individuals from a variety of fields to participate over time.

Past Chairholders*:

1996 - John Bowers (fall semester)

1997 - Gustavo Perez Firmat

1998 - Coramae Richey Mann

1999 - Patrick Cronin (spring semester)

1999 - Lisa Alther (fall semester)

2000 - Dr. George Gale (fall semester)

2001 - Dr. Anne LaBastille (fall semester)

2005 - Dr Martin A. Hendry

2007 - Dr. George Kampis

2008 - Mr. Ivars Peterson

2009 - Dr. Graham Leonard

*Created in 1994 but no chairholder chosen until 1996

icon for left menu icon for right menu